Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

August 12, 2010
paninigirl

9 comments

Carciofini-Baby Artichokes

Yes, I know it’s not artichoke season. They’re really at their peak in the spring and that’s when I took this photo while we were strolling through the mercato all’aperto (outdoor market) in Chiavari, a lovely town on the Ligurian coast. I spied some this week at a local farmers’ market and just couldn’t resist.

The best thing about these baby artichokes is that after trimming them just a bit, you can eat the whole thing. As with most Italian vegetables, the simplest preparations are most often the best. This one comes from a favorite book-The Antipasto Table. If you ever eaten artichokes in Rome, this dish will take you back to the splendor of that day.

Stewed Baby Artichokes

Juice of 1 lemon
2 pounds baby artichokes
1 small onion, peeled and finely chopped
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
2 tablespoons chopped flat leaf parsley
1/3 cup water
salt and freshly ground black pepper

Fill a large bowl with cold water and the lemon juice. Trim the artichokes by snapping off the outer leaves at the base, leaving just the central core of pale, tender leaves. Cut about 1/2″ off the tops. With a small knife, trim the leaf ends from the base and peel off the tough outer layer from the stem. Cut the artichokes in half lengthwise. Scrape out the small, fuzzy choke. Drop into the water to prevent them from turning brown. Drain before cooking.

In a large saucepan, cook the onion in the olive oil over medium heat until tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in the garlic and the parsley and cook for 30 seconds more. Add the artichokes, water, salt and pepper to taste.

Cover and cook over low heat until the artichokes are tender when pierced with a knife, about 15 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Serves: 8

9 thoughts on “Carciofini-Baby Artichokes

  1. J and I were just yesterday talking about our favorite carciofi… We’ve tried to make them many times, but never got them quite how we wanted them. I’ll be sure to save this recipe and try in the sping. Thanks again! 🙂

  2. You have an award from me. I posted it yesterday on my blog!

    This is my favourite way to eat carciofi!

  3. Oh, that sounds so good, and DOES make me think of Rome. I also want to PAINT them!

  4. I love artichokes – cooked any way. Did you know that if they are left to grow they produce the most amazing lilac flower like petals. They are related to thistles, so I suppose this makes sense.

  5. I don’t think I have ever had them .. must look out for them .. seems easy and tasty!

  6. These are just so expensive in Dallas that I’ve never broken down and purchased any. Not knowing what to do with them also comes into play. I guess I know now, huh?

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.