Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

August 23, 2010
paninigirl

13 comments

In Love-With A Brownie!

I’ve been using the same brownie recipe forever. Something about this recipe just drew me in. Maybe it was the word truffle, maybe it was the prospect of frosting on top. Whatever the case, I was anxious to give it a go and I am ever glad that I did. This is my new favorite brownie and as good as it is just on its own, it’s even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.

Truffle Brownies

12 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped, divided
11 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into 1″ cubes
1-1/4 cups sugar
3 large eggs
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup unbleached flour
1 cup walnuts, coarsely chopped
3/4 cup heavy whipping cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9″ x 9″ x 2″ metal baking pan with foil, leaving overhang. Spray foil with nonstick vegetable oil spray. Combine 6 ounces bittersweet chocolate and butter in medium metal bowl. Set bowl over saucepan of simmering water and stir until chocolate and butter are melted and smooth. Remove bowl from over water and cool chocolate mixture until lukewarm, 8-10 minutes.

Whisk sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and salt in a large bowl to blend. Whisk in chocolate mixture. Stir in flour, then chopped walnuts. Transfer batter to prepared baking pan. Bake brownies until tester inserted into center comes out clean with moist crumbs attached, 26-28 minutes. Transfer pan to cooling rack and let brownies cool completely.

Bring cream to simmer in small saucepan over medium heat. Remove from heat and add remaining 6 ounces chocolate to hot cream and let stand 5 minutes to soften, then whisk until melted and smooth. Pour over brownies in pan and spread to cover completely. Let stand at cool room temperature until topping is set, about 4 hours. Cover and store at room temperature. Using foil as aid, lift brownies from pan. Fold down foil around edges and cut into squares.

Recipe from July 2010 Bon Appetit.

13 thoughts on “In Love-With A Brownie!

  1. I am convinced brownies are good for you.

  2. Unlike most people in the world, I’m not a diehard brownie lover BUT this brownie looks like the best thing I ever saw. I think it’s the icing! It looks sooo creamy I want some now! I have to mark this recipe and make it very very soon.

  3. To honor myself and the full moon… Wait, let me rephrase that. To honor my cravings because of the full moon today, I will head up to the shop and get the ingredients necessary to make these brownies. Do I dare pair it with a good red wine? I think I will.

  4. Oh – and I agree fully with bagnidilucca….

  5. Pingback: Owning your passion « A house and a garden

  6. Not a huge brownie fan either, but this could definitely convert me 😀

  7. Pingback: Baking on a full moon « A house and a garden

  8. Ice cream…brownies…walnuts. Whoa, I think I may have started fainting with desire for this one! I will post it for Magazine Monday!

  9. These brownies sound wonderful. I’ve been thinking about trying out several different brownie recipes to find the BEST brownies ever, I think this recipe is now on the list of ones to try. I just need to find more taste testers, otherwise I’ll have to eat a whole lot of brownies all by myself!

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.