Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

August 17, 2010
paninigirl

1 comment

Curry In A Hurry

I love Indian food and for the past ten weeks have been craving it each week as I watched The Next Food Network Star. One of the contestants hails from India and I’ve been interested in everything that she’s been cooking. After watching last week’s episode I decided to take a peek at their website to see if her recipes featuring shrimp were posted and there they were. I spent most of this past week dreaming of her South of the Border Prawn Masala. It seems fitting that I finally got around to making it last night as Aarti was announced the winner and her very own show will premier on Sunday on the Food Network.

Why don’t you head on over to the Food Network for the recipe and try it for yourself. I didn’t really change the recipe, except to lessen the amount of the shrimp broth-I only used 1 cup instead of two. The dish had just the right amount of spice to complement the shrimp, rather than overpower it.

I did whip up a little zucchini from our garden as a side dish. Just saute half of a sliced onion in a little olive oil along with a half teaspoon of cumin seed. Add three zucchini, cut in chunks, along with a half teaspoon of ground coriander. Season with salt and freshly ground pepper, cook over medium heat for 10-15 minutes, until zucchini is tender. I happened to have a green tomato laying around (from my never ripening garden) and I cubed this and threw it in with the zucchini, but the dish would be fine without it.

I’m definitely going to check out Aarti’s new show on the Food Network!

One thought on “Curry In A Hurry

  1. This looks delicious!

Leave a comment

Required fields are marked *.