Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

November 19, 2016
paninigirl

10 comments

Baked Frittata

frittata2

It’s been quite a while since I made a frittata. Seems like I just forgot about how easy and satisfying they could be. Back in the day when I had a cafe I used to make them every week for our Saturday breakfast service. Not wanting to be standing over a stove making them at the last minute when I had a million other things going on, I started making baked frittatas. You can saute your vegetables ahead of time, grate whatever cheese you choose, throw it together and pop it into the oven.

The beauty of a frittata is that you can change them up as easy as one two three. Have mushrooms but no peppers, go ahead and use them. There’s broccoli lurking in the crisper but no zucchini,  just steam and chop. Same goes for the cheese- mozzarella, cheddar, swiss-they would all work. You get the picture-you probably have all the ingredients you need in your fridge right now. Frittatas aren’t only for breakfast-pair with a green salad and warm crusty bread and you have the perfect lunch.

 

frittata

Baked Frittata

12 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1 cup grated sharp cheddar or jarlsberg

1  zucchini, sliced into 1/4″ rounds

1 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 medium onion, sliced

3/4 cup diced fresh tomato

1/3 cup fresh basil, shredded

3 tablespoons olive oil

salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment. Spray a 9″ non-stick springform with cooking spray.

Pour olive oil into large skillet. Put onions, peppers and zucchini into skillet, season with salt and pepper and saute  over medium heat until vegetables are softened. Remove from heat and let cool. In a large mixing bowl beat eggs with milk. Add grated cheese,  sautéed vegetables, chopped tomatoes and basil. Mix together until well blended.

Place springform on baking sheet and pour egg mixture into pan. Bake in preheated oven for 30-40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool for 5 minutes. Unmold pan, slice and serve warm. Serves: 8 (I like to serve with salsa)

10 thoughts on “Baked Frittata

  1. Yum! Looks pretty too👍

  2. Frittata is my simple “go to” meal when I want something fast and easy. I like the ingredients in this one, must try it.

    • Lyn-I don’t know why it’s been so long since I made one. Unfortunately my husband has a thing about to having eggs for dinner! Believe me I’ve tried to convince him how great it would be with a salad.

  3. Frittata is my go to supper dish for those days when I just cannot stop at the market. I love the flavors and colors that you incorporated into this particular frittata.

  4. Well, now that’s a beauty of a frittata. I like baking them in the oven too and no flipping involved!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

