Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

November 5, 2016
paninigirl

2 comments

Coconut Macademia Chip Cookies

cookies

I don’t think you can have too many recipes for chocolate chip cookies. Every time I think I’ve found my favorite, I stumble on another recipe that I feel the need to try. For years I followed the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. I still think this makes a very good cookie and I finally realized that making the dough a day ahead and refrigerating it overnight makes for a cookie with a much better texture.

I had a request the other  day for a chocolate chip cookie with toasted coconut and macadamia nuts. I’m not a huge lover of macadamias, but decided to give it a go anyway and I’m that I did. What I really loved about this recipe is that the butter is melted rather than being softened, so there’s no need to get the butter out of the fridge ahead of time.

I must say that when I searched for a recipe I settled on what supposedly came from Mrs. Fields. Not having ever bought cookies in her shop I’m not sure how this one would compare, but it did measure up to what I think is a very good chip cookie-lots of chocolate, a good crunch of nuts and a somewhat gooey texture. I upped the amount of macadamias and coconut from the original recipe. I did not make the dough a day ahead as the recipe calls for placing the scooped dough in the freezer for 10 minutes and this seemed to work just as well.

Coconut Macademia Chip Cookies

1 cup butter, melted
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
2 tablespoons milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
1-1/4 cups shredded coconut, toasted
1 cup macadamia nuts, toasted & loosely chopped (you want nice, big chunks)
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Using an electric mixer, blend the sugars and butter until creamy and smooth. Add in eggs, vanilla, and milk; mix to combine on medium speed until smooth. Slowly add in flour, salt and soda; mix until well combined. On low speed, stir in chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Using a 1-1/2″ cookie scoop, spoon dough onto parchment lined cookie sheets. Stick tray in the freezer for 10 minutes. After dough has chilled, bake cookies for about 15 minutes, checking the cookies after 10 minutes and rotating the tray to ensure even browning. Makes about 24 cookies.

2 thoughts on “Coconut Macademia Chip Cookies

  1. I so agree, even though it seems unnecessary chocolate chip cookie recipes vary. This one is a keeper and seems perfect for college care packages.

  2. Thanks for the tip about freezing the dough. These look like just the texture I love for chocolate chip cookies.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

