Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

October 24, 2016
paninigirl

2 comments

Chocolate Sables

 

 

 

sables

I have a huge file for recipes that’s somewhat organized. Some years back I decided that I needed another place to collect recipes that I would keep in the kitchen. This file was supposed to be things that I wanted to make “right away”. It was a great idea when I started,  but now this collection of recipes is probably as large as the file in my office. I suppose you might be thinking that I should put these on my computer. Well, that would be a massive project and after recently having an issue with liquid and my computer, I’m less than inclined with having my computer in the kitchen.

So I was looking for a butternut squash recipe that I could only half remember when I came across this cookie recipe scribbled on a piece of paper. I think I may have made them before, but I’m not even sure about that. Be sure to plan ahead if you make these as the dough needs to chill for four hours. Use a good quality chocolate as it really is the star of the cookie. These are delectable on their own, but with a scoop of vanilla ice cream they are divine!

 Chocolate Sables

1-1/4 cups flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

pinch salt

3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons powdered sugar

1 stick plus 2 tablespoons butter at room temp

2 tablespoons cold milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 egg white, lightly beaten

1/2 cup sugar

In a mixer pulse flour, cocoa powder and salt. Add butter and process until sandy. Add powdered sugar, milk and vanilla and mix until firm dough forms.

Form dough into two logs, wrap each in parchment and chill for four hours.

Preheat oven to 350. Brush logs with beaten egg white then roll into sugar.

Cut into 1/4″ slices. Bake on parchment lined baking sheet 20 minutes until just firm.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Sables

  1. Melt in your mouth chocolate sables, I just love them! Completely understand your filing system, I do the same and it does catch up with me as well.

  2. They must be phenomenal- a chocolate butter cookie. You’re so right about choosing good chocolate. It makes the cookie really special.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

