March 28, 2016
paninigirl

2 comments

Pasquetta-Little Easter

In Italy the Monday after Easter is also a holiday known as Pasquetta. Schools are closed, most people are off from work and it’s a day when many families head off to the countryside for a picnic. It almost feels like the official start to spring. We may not be going on a picnic today, but I did make the perfect portable dish-Pizza Rustica.

Making this torta is a tradition in our house and it just doesn’t seem like Easter without it. As a college student my grandmother would pack me a piece to go and I would eat it on the train ride back to school. There are certainly variations on this recipe, some with a lot more cheese and meat than the version that I make. Mine is an approximation of what my grandmother served. I’ve written about it in the past, but it is certainly worth sharing again. Served right out of the oven or at room temperature, this classic southern Italian pie is a family favorite. I’ve even been known to sneak a piece out of the fridge!

2 thoughts on “Pasquetta-Little Easter

  1. Now that photo should be illegal. It has me drooling. No recipe?

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

