Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

February 11, 2016
paninigirl

8 comments

Jam Filled Cookies

 

biscotti

I haven’t been doing a lot of baking as of late and I miss it. I realized that I’m the only person in this household that actually eats any of the baked goods. I have a cookie each and every morning with my cappuccino and the rest go into the freezer and my freezer is packed. Want some cookies?

I mentioned to J. that I really missed baking and he said then just go ahead and bake! I’ve been pouring over two cookbooks-The Italian Farmer’s Table and the Southern Italian Farmer’s Table-looking for dinner ideas when I was drawn to this cookie recipe. Jam crostatas are served all over Italy and these biscotti are a bite size version. Take a look at Emiko’s recipe here and while you’re on her website and be sure to click on the link for her upcoming cookbook (I was happy to do some recipe testing for it).

dough

What I love about these biscotti is that they aren’t too sweet and the crust is somewhat crispy. Feel free to use whatever jam you have on hand. I was lucky to have a jar of homemade blackberry preserves (made by a friend) in the cupboard. I think these are perfect with a cup of tea or coffee. Next time I might just go ahead and make a whole crostata.

 

Biscotti Ripieni di Marmellata (Jam Filled Cookies)

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened

1/3 cup superfine sugar

1 large egg

1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

Pinch of table salt

1/2 tablespoon grated lemon zest

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup fruit jam

In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment mix together the butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and mix until combined. Reduce the speed to low and mix in flour, salt, lemon zest and vanilla until the dough forms. Turn the dough onto a work surface dusted lightly with flour and knead until smooth. Flatten the dough into a disk and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 1 hour.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

On a  lightly floured work surface roll the dough out into a large circle 1/8″ thick. With a 3″ round cookie cutter (preferably fluted) cut out disks of dough. You can gather the scraps and reroll the dough. Put 1 teaspoon jam in the center of each round, fold one side into the center and bring the opposite side into the center. Arrange on a parchment lined baking sheet and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Bake until the cookies are golden brown and set, about 15 to 20 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely. Yield: 22 cookies

Recipe from the Southern Italian Farmer’s Table

 

 

8 thoughts on “Jam Filled Cookies

  1. What beautiful cookies. And a perfect size for me to enjoy one too!
    I love the “filled” pastry/cookie. Think I am going to try a filled a one one day soon. Thank u J

  2. Now don’t those cookies look absolutely delightful! They are real classics, and in fact, they make me think of my grandmother. She used to make cookies l just like those and she’d bring them to us when she cam to visit. Don’t you just love food memories?

    I hope things are going well for you – your food certainly looks fab!

    • Adri-It’s amazing how food can take us right back to when we were children. I don’t think my grandmother made these but I remember seeing something like them in the Italian bakeries.

  3. Yes, I’ll take some of those cookies. Seriously, my mom used to make similar cookies and fill them with lekvar, a prune-based jam. I always looked forward to them at Christmas.

  4. I love your beautiful food photos Janie just as much as the recipes and the stories that go along with them. Bake on! xx

  5. Janine-thank you for the nice compliment. Yes I will absolutely keep baking-I can’t help myself!

  6. Seeing your photos took me back to family gatherings – these were always on the table. Thanks for the memories…

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

