October 18, 2015
paninigirl

5 comments

My Americano Mixup

Screen shot 2015-10-15 at 1.35.38 PM

I’m not someone who goes into a bar and orders a mixed drink. Pour me a tall flute of champagne or a glass of wine and I’m one happy gal. Recently I’ve jumped on the craft beer band wagon. San Diego is at the forefront of this movement and there are plenty of opportunities within a few miles to visit local breweries and sample their wares.

The weather here has been unseasonably hot and so when we went out for happy hour this week after much hemming and hawing I decided that an Americano would be the perfect drink for a sultry afternoon. Imagine my surprise when the waitress brought me a tall glass of hot liquid and a little pitcher of cream. After a moment of confusion I realized that she thought I meant americano the coffee drink!

Back to the bar she went after I told her that it was a “cocktail”. I started getting concerned when I saw the look of confusion on the bartender’s face. This is a guy who’s behind the bar whipping up all sorts of libations and it was obvious that he had no idea what I wanted. Luckily another employee jumped in and made me one. To be honest it wasn’t as good as the ones I made at home, but it did hit the spot.

Americano

Ice cubes
1 1/2 ounces Campari
1 1/2 ounces sweet vermouth
Chilled club soda
Slice of orange or lemon, for garnishing

Next time I’ll order an Negroni (replace the club soda with gin) and that should eliminate having to explain that it’s not a coffee drink.

5 thoughts on “My Americano Mixup

  1. Love your last words!

  2. Cin cin Janie! Fingers crossed for next time!

  3. How funny…the correct drink sounds so refreshing! I always like the thought of drinking Campari, but haven’t found the drink to my liking…maybe this recipe will work…

  4. As it seems to be getting warm again, an Americano would hit the spot. Love the confusion…

  5. Ha! That’s a good one. The pitcher of cream is too much! I love a nice Americano. The drink was originally known as a Milano-Torino for the Campari that came from Milan and the vermouth from Torino – a little bit of cocktail history there, but you’d be hard pressed to find a barman today who would have known what you wanted even if you had called it a Milano-Torino. The drink became a favorite of American tourists, who during Prohibiiton, imbibed plenty of them, and so it became known as an Americano. I think you’re right about a Negroni removing all confusion!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

