June 26, 2015
paninigirl

11 comments

Almond Praline Ice Cream Cake

torte

The year was 1997. I saw this recipe in Gourmet magazine and planned on making it for an upcoming dinner party. I read the recipe over and over, counted the steps involved, placed it back in my file box and decided on something a little simpler.

Time passed, another dinner party in the works and out came the recipe. Once again back into the file. This went on a few more times until last week when I decided to get over my hesitation and make it. Yes, it took eighteen years for me to just do it. In the end it wasn’t as hard as I had thought it would be. This is a dessert that works best if you make it over a few days.. The almond brittle can be done a week ahead. You can turn the brittle into almond butter a few days ahead, the meringue layers the day before.

I’m sending you over to the Epicurious site for the recipe. Don’t wait as long as I did to try it. I will say that it is a rather sweet dessert and can easily serve 12. Leftovers are pretty good too!

11 thoughts on “Almond Praline Ice Cream Cake

  1. It was AWESOME…any other recipes you’ve been waiting 18 years to make? Feel free to try them out on us…pralines and ice cream…what a combination (and David raved about it)…thank you!

  2. Oh how lucky those who ate your cake were. It sounds and looks fantastic.

    • Ciao Chow Linda-we had a lot left over-only problem about trying to share it with others is that it starts melting and can’t go far. Luckily I have some neighbors who were willing to have some.

  3. Worth the wait I am sure Janie! This looks amazing. Very impressive!!!!

  4. This looks wonderful! What is the name of the people you rented the Lucca apartment from? I know someone who may be interested.

  5. This is a perfect special occasion cake for summer, thank you! I already have an occasion in mind.

  6. Leftovers? You are joking, right?!?!? LOL! Looks awesome!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

