May 28, 2015
paninigirl

10 comments

Brown Sugar Pound Cake

cake

You may be starting to think that I don’t cook anymore. I just looked back at the blog and the last four recipes that I posted were for baked goods. I do cook, in fact I cook dinner every night and not too long ago I began cooking for work too. It seems that for whatever reason, I can’t seem to get photos taken before sitting down to supper. Note to self: make an effort to photograph some savory creations…

At any rate, friends were coming for lunch and I had planned on making panna cotta with a raspberry sauce for dessert until I saw this recipe. The idea of a pound cake using dark brown sugar appealed to me and once in the oven the kitchen was filled with the sweet scent of molasses. The finished product was a dense loaf cake topped with a sugar glaze. It was love at first bite and we enjoyed it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of raspberry sauce. It’s just as tasty eaten out of hand with your morning coffee.

Brown Sugar Pound Cake (from Food 52)

1 cup dark brown sugar
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
4 eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-3/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
2 to 3 tablespoons milk (I used 2)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract (original recipe called for 1 teaspoon)

Preheat your oven to 350° F. Butter and flour a 9-inch loaf pan. In a stand mixer, cream together the sugar and butter until very light and fluffy, 3 to 5 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating between each one. Add in the vanilla and mix to combine.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients, beating until just incorporated. Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan, smooth the top, and bake for 1 hour, or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

While the cake cools, whisk together all of the glaze ingredients (add more milk, depending on how thin you want the glaze to be). Turn the cake out onto a cooling rack, and drizzle the glaze over the top. Wait for the glaze to set before slicing and serving the cake.

10 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Pound Cake

  1. Oh my. This is definitely on my “to-make” list. I’ve made plenty of pound cakes, but never one with brown sugar. At first I thought you had used browned butter. I can only imagine the wonderful flavor the brown sugar imparts.

  2. Wish I had some right now! That’s my kind of dessert.

  3. My favourite. It looks so delicious and that molasses smell has just about reached Melbourne. So good!!!!

  4. What a lovely simple cake yummm

  5. Best blog on the web!!!! Takes me back to italia every time!!! Grazie Mille Joni

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

