May 19, 2015
paninigirl

13 comments

Raspberry-Ricotta Cake

cake 2

I have a huge file of recipes. Actually it’s not a file, it’s a basket and there’s no organization to it, none at all. I used to have an accordion file that was divided into categories but it was bursting at the seams so I took out the recipes that I wanted to make and started the basket. Now the basket is overflowing with new recipes. You’re probably wondering why I bother at all with clipping out recipes when everything’s on the internet, but I like doing it and find it easier to locate the dishes that I would like to try.

So last week I went through the basket and cleaned it up a bit and pulled out a few to get going on. This cake caught my eye and since berries are abundant right now and I had ricotta in the fridge I thought it was time to give it a go. This cake comes together in minutes and is moist and I had a piece before it cooled. Delicious warm, but just as good when I tried it again a few minutes ago.

Raspberry-Ricotta Cake (recipe from March 2015 Bon Appetit)

Nonstick vegetable oil spray
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
¾ teaspoon kosher salt
3 large eggs
1½ cups ricotta
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup frozen raspberries or blackberries, divided

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a 9”-diameter cake pan with parchment paper and lightly coat with nonstick spray. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
Whisk eggs, ricotta, and vanilla in a medium bowl until smooth; fold into dry ingredients just until blended. Then fold in butter, followed by ¾ cup raspberries, taking care not to crush berries. Scrape batter into prepared pan and scatter remaining ¼ cup raspberries over top.
Bake cake until golden brown and a tester inserted into the center comes out clean, 50–60 minutes. Let cool at least 20 minutes before unmolding.
Do Ahead: Cake can be made 2 days ahead. Store tightly wrapped at room temperature.

13 thoughts on “Raspberry-Ricotta Cake

  1. looks delicious…wish I had some right now 🙂

  2. Can I add in some grated coconut?

  3. I’m the same way…saving mounds of recipes from various magazines, and piling them up for “later”….then just stick with the classics, or make something up as I go along. Guess we are Recipe Hoarders…maybe a new Reality Show series??? LOL!

  4. I love it when you find a recipe that is so good an that uses up leftovers you’ve got in the fridge. I’ll be making this one – with raspberries or maybe blueberries.

  5. Even I have recipes cut out from magazines and I rarely bake ..not the same as looking on the internet ..I like paper recipes.

  6. Che buona!!! And beautifully styled too. Brava! x

  7. Pingback: Raspberry-Ricotta Cake | Posts

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

