Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

July 21, 2014
paninigirl

5 comments

Help!

tomatoes

Need I say more? I’m a little overwhelmed, but more than willing than work my way through these tomatoes! Here are a few old favorites that I see in our future:

Tomato Tart
Scalloped Tomatoes
Frittata di Pane
Stuffed Tomatoes
And of course-Bruschetta

I did try a new and very simple dish from a book that I love-Verdura-by Viana La Place. This book is chock full of Italian inspired recipes featuring fresh vegetables, many of them requiring no cooking at all-perfect for those hot summer nights.

The beauty of this dish is that it can be eaten hot, at room temperature or even cold. I’m planning on having the leftovers for lunch on a crusty roll.

Tiella Doppio Rosso (Double Red Gratin)

3 large red peppers
4 large ripe tomatoes
Extra-virign olive oil
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1/2 cup coarsely chopped Italian parsley
1/2 cup chopped basil leaves
1/2 cup chopped fresh oregano or 2 teaspoons dried
1-2 tablespoons capers
2 tablespoons bread crumbs

Roast the peppers over a gas flame, under the broiler or on the barbecue. Remove the skin, cut the peppers in half, core and seed. Cut peppers into thick slices. Core tomatoes and thickly slice them.

Oil a large baking dish. Arrange a layer of tomato slices on the bottom of the dish. Season lightly with salt and pepper to taste and sprinkle some of the herbs and capers on top. Cover with a layer of pepper strips. Season again with salt and pepper, herbs and capers. Continuing layering ingredients topping the final layer with bread crumbs. Moisten the gratin with a drizzling of olive oil.

Bake for 25 minutes in a preheated 375 degree oven. Serve this dish hot, warm or at room temperature. It’s quite refreshing served cold. Serves 4-6.

5 thoughts on “Help!

  1. Can we add some meat to it?
    Nice recipe BTW 🙂

  2. Whoa! Che bonta! And it is not even August yet! I just love “Verdura.” What a wonderful book. I purchased it right after it was published, and I have used it so often that my copy is dogeared in the extreme. May I also suggest you look at Domenica Marchetti’s “Glorious Vegetables of Italy” for some more tomatoey inspiration. Back in September of 2010 I posted about Tomato Jam. I used Juliet tomatoes for it, and it was really quite tasty. I hope you are having a wonderful summer, and good luck with the tomatoes!

  3. Your Tiella Doppio Rosso recipe looks so rich and yumm! Those tomatoes, by the way, remind me of Shakshouka, another awesome dish i regularly had in Tel Aviv. Those reddish delights are also perfect for my veggie panini sandwich.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

