July 14, 2014
paninigirl

6 comments

Chocolate Chip Cookies-My Search Has Ended

cookies

My love of cooking began way back in grammar school. I am lucky to have a mother who let me help her out in the kitchen and it wasn’t too long before I was allowed to make some things on my own. Chocolate chip cookies were probably the first thing that I made and all these years later I’ve been using the same recipe-the one on the back of the chip bag!

Every once in a while I would try a new recipe, but I never found a new one that I was committed to. Well all that changed today when I used the recipe I found over at Smitten Kitchen. I chopped about half of the toasted walnuts finely and the rest I left in larger pieces. J. prefers his cookies a little browner and in spite of that I found that they were done in less than 18 minutes as stated in the recipe. Start checking them at about 14-15 minutes. These cookies have a lot of chocolate in them-just the way that I like them. J. was picking them over looking for ones with fewer chips-oh well, more for me!

Smitten Kitchen Chocolate Chip Cookies

1/2 cup (100 grams) granulated sugar
1/2 cup (120 grams) firmly packed light brown sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) (115 grams) unsalted butter, cold, cut into 1/2-inch (1cm) pieces
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 cups (175 grams) all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt or 1/2 teaspoon flaky sea salt
1 1/2 cups (200 grams) semisweet chocolate chips
1 cup (130 grams) walnuts or pecans, toasted and chopped

Adjust the oven rack to the top third of the oven and preheat to 300F (150C). Line three baking sheets with parchment paper.

Beat the sugars and butters together until smooth. Mix in the egg, vanilla, and baking soda.

Stir together the flour and salt, then mix them into the batter. Mix in the chocolate chips and nuts.

Scoop the cookie dough into 2-tablespoon (5cm) balls and place 8 balls, spaced 4 inches (10cm) apart, on each of the baking sheets.

Bake for 18 minutes, or until pale golden brown. Remove from the oven and cool on a wire rack.

P.S. The peanut butter cookies from the Smitten Kitchen are pretty amazing too!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies-My Search Has Ended

  1. those look delicious…like a cookie should

  2. I can’t wait to whip up a batch of these. Thanks for sharing.
    I made Red Velvet Cookies..
    http://bit.ly/1w6OLWD

  3. Eatbetea-the finely chopped nuts give the cookie a greta texture and flavor too!

  4. panini girl have you ever try to learn how to speak italian? i am doing with duolingo and it is helping me to enjoy better italy as well you do. by the way ypur cooking looks delicious!

    • Eduardo-thank you for telling me about duolingo. I’ve taken a lot of Italian classes but speaking it is always a lot harder than reading it in a book! Thank you for checking out my blog.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

