May 13, 2014
paninigirl

8 comments

Meyer Lemon Gelato

Screen shot 2014-05-12 at 5.31.51 PM

A few weeks ago I was the lucky recipient of a big bag of Meyer lemons. When I say big I mean there were about fifty of these beauties in there and they were ripe. Not having time to whip up a dessert on the spot, I decided to juice them and freeze the juice in quart-size baggies. I started out thinking that I would make a lemon curd tart but suddenly the weather turned very warm and I couldn’t stop thinking about ice cream.

When I started looking for a recipe for Meyer lemon gelato one of the articles that came up was from Adri Barr Crocetti whose blog I love. Right then I stopped my search as I knew this would be the recipe I would go with.

I made this with the intention of serving it to friends a few days later but there was no way that we could wait that long. Of course we had to try it as soon as it was frozen and it was exactly what I hoped it would be-oh so creamy and just as lemony.

A big thank you to our neighbor S. for the lemons and to Adri for the recipe!

Meyer Lemon Gelato

2 cups whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
5 large egg yolks
1 tablespoon Meyer lemon zest
1/3 cup Meyer lemon juice

Prepare an ice water bath. Scrub and dry lemons. Zest and juice lemons. Set aside.

Place milk, cream, granulated sugar and zest in medium saucepan. Over medium heat stir to dissolve sugar and scald mixture by heating until small bubbles form around the edge of the saucepan.

Meanwhile, separate eggs and place yolks in medium bowl, reserving whites for another use. Beat yolks with a whisk until lightened, about 1 minute.

Once milk mixture has heated, slowly add half to the egg yolks, whisking continuously. This will “temper” the yolks so the upcoming heat of the stove will not curdle them. Return milk and egg mixture to the saucepan. Over medium heat cook, stirring very frequently, until mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon or reaches 160 degrees F.

Remove from heat and strain into clean bowl, add lemon juice. Set over ice bath, stirring occasionally to promote even cooling. Place mixture in refrigerator to chill completely. This may be completed up to 24 hours ahead. This will yield about 3 ½ cups of gelato base.

Transfer mixture to gelato maker and churn according to manufacturer’s instruction. Place in freezer container, cover tightly and freeze 2 hours.

8 thoughts on “Meyer Lemon Gelato

  1. Oh my! What a wonderful surprise. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this. Aren’t Meyer Lemons just divine? And thanks a million for the shout-out!

    • Adri-I as soon as I saw your recipe I knew that I had no search to go any further. Now I want to make the Meyer lemon pie! It reminds me of one I had at Pizzeria Mozza that is no longer on their menu.

  2. I was able to get Meyer lemons last year but they have never made an appearance in our markets this year. I can just imagine how good your gelato was.

  3. Karen-I also made a really delicious <eyer lemon cheesecake.

  4. Why did I open your blog? Love Gelato , I would try the lemon one too, even though my favourite is Pistachio 🙂 Thanks for tempting my taste buds.

  5. another great recipe, thanx Panini girl. I am enjoying my daily gelato here in Bagni di Lucca

  6. HI Panini girl, have you been getting my posts from here in Italy. I have not heard from you and I know you were looking forward to hearing Lyn

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

