January 2, 2014
paninigirl

8 comments

Gelatina di Fragole-Strawberry Jelly

jar

Back in October when my good friend Bonnie and I were working our way through Florence’s Mercato Centrale, she spied this cunning little jar of strawberry jelly atop a counter. Set amidst various bottles of balsamics and spreads, there it was.

Whenever she’s in Italy B. has the foresight to do a fair amount of Christmas shopping while I can never seem to think that far into the future. She even said to me “wouldn’t his make a great gift?” and I said yes, admiring the beauty of the jar and its tiny scrolled label. It would take an Italian to sell a fruit spread in such a seductive package.

Imagine my surprise when I opened a box on Christmas morning and there it was-the gelatina di fragole. I now have it sitting on my kitchen counter where I look at it and ponder whether I should open it or not. Of course I will eventually use it, but I know I will hold on to that charming little jar for a long time. Thank you B. for the perfect gift-you know me so well!

8 thoughts on “Gelatina di Fragole-Strawberry Jelly

  1. Just gorgeous. Buon Anno

  2. I love the pretty little jar…I would have to buy the jelly just for the way it is packaged. 🙂

  3. Wow, with a jar as beautiful as that and such a charming label, I can only imagine the delights held inside! I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, and I send you best wishes for a wonderful 2014!

  4. that is one of the ‘cutest’ jars I have seen lately…tks f/sharing!

  5. Adri-thank you for the good wishes and I hope the new year brings a bounty of great food to you. I certainly wish I was your neighbor so I could get in on some of your marvelous baked goods!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

