Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

December 30, 2013
paninigirl

14 comments

Eat Your Vegetables

cabbage

When I think of cabbage the first thing that comes to mind is my Italian mother cooking corned beef and cabbage for my Irish father on St. Patrick’s Day. That stinky cabbage smell wafted through the house and I had no desire to partake in the meal. Over the years I’ve shied away from cooking cabbage and only used it for coleslaw. Then one day a few months ago I had an epiphany while reading one of my favorite blogs. Why not roast thickly cut slices of cabbage?

cabbage

I have to thank Elizabeth at Elizabeth Minchilli in Rome for turning me on to this very simple and incredibly flavorful cabbage dish. It makes sense that a sprinkling of olive oil and a little seasoning would turn the humble cabbage into a dish that I now crave. The edges are are somewhat burnt and very crispy while the center is soft and luscious. Who knew that cabbage could be so enticing?

Roasted Cabbage

1 large head cabbage
olive oil
salt and freshly ground pepper
fennel pollen (if you have it) or fennel seeds

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Trim off the outer leaves of the cabbage. Cut the cabbage into 1 inch slices. Place slices on a parchment lined baking sheet. Drizzle cabbage generously with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, pepper and fennel pollen and roast for about 35 minutes. Outer edges should be crispy and the center soft.

14 thoughts on “Eat Your Vegetables

  1. Sounds delicious. Must try.

  2. I like cabbage anyway, so this sounds like a great way to eat it.

  3. Yummy. Need to try it when in the right climate. Lots of opportunities to practice italian here in Australia. We are constantly running into paesani here. What a treat. We ran into lots of Australians when we spent 3 months in Pienza this Fall. Good flight prices betwen the two countries.

  4. I like cabbage and will definitely try roasting it. Love your first photo. 🙂

  5. This is how we ate cabbage at home when I was a kid. In fact, this post made me chuckle. It brought back memories of a visit from my aunt. She said she was going to cook some cabbage, and I expected my mom’s chunks of roasted cabbage. Instead when I came back inside from the yard, I was assaulted by the most dreadful smell. It was completely new to me, and I had noidea what she was cooking. I peeked into the pot, and there is was… boiling cabbage! Oh, but it was so hard for all of us to get that cabbage down, and the smell lingered for a couple of days. Whew! I’m glad you’ve discovered this technique. It really is great. I send you my warmest wishes for a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year!

  6. We just love cooked cabbage…one of my favorite ways is to get a wok smoking hot with some EVOO… toss sliced cabbage in and a little salt…toss until soft and yes…get some of those edges nice and crispy..really tasty. Your recipe here sounds easy and delicious…David has been doing that to cauliflower…cutting a thick slice and roasting it…funny how these simple “old fashioned” ways are so comforting too.

  7. I just made it, and loved it! I think I ate half of the cabbage myself!! I didn’t have any more parchment paper and aluminum foil worked just fine, as did the fennel powder I had in my cupboard.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

