October 10, 2013
paninigirl

10 comments

The Town Is Mine

tower

There’s something special about being up and out of the house before everyone else, especially in a town like Lucca where the mid-day streets are filled with locals and a fair amount of tourists.

st micheals

The church of San Michele is an impressive sight regardless of the amount of people that are milling around. Imagine my delight when I walked into the square and found myself all alone. There were a few police standing in front of the entrance to the church, but that was it. Even the cafes surrounding the piazza were deserted. Good morning to me!

10 thoughts on “The Town Is Mine

  1. What a great feeling your photos exude…and a favorite time of day for me too…I love the quiet and these streets look like they hold so much just under cover.

  2. That, too, is my favorite time to roam about the streets in Italy! Everything is so peaceful and you have these gorgeous places almost to yourself. But it seems to get harder to get up early as you get used to the time change…good for you that you can still seem to get out early 🙂

  3. thanks for the memories! the beauty goes on!!

  4. I can relate to this post so well Janie. These are the moments that keep us coming back to Italy don’t you think? xo

  5. I was fortunate enough to spend a few days in Lucca last June. I loved it too. Early mornings are magical in the nooks and crannies of Italian towns. While in Lucca, I arranged to meet Debra of the great blog Bagni di Lucca and Beyond. Bonus! I’ve been following her for a few years, and you. Ciao for now. MLT

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

