August 20, 2013
paninigirl

20 comments

Simply Stuffed

stuffed globe zucchini

I’ve been cooking since I was a youngster. I started in the kitchen following my mother around and helping her with dinner and whenever she entertained. As a teenager I started having my own dinner parties and used my mom’s recipes. It wasn’t until I went off to college that I started to experiment and make dishes my own.

Time passed, my passion for food and cooking grew and at some point I found myself trying more advanced recipes. I felt the need to go over the top when I had guests over to dinner. I spent hours in the kitchen preparing complicated courses hoping to impress my friends. I was beat by the time we sat down at the table.

Well thankfully that period in my cooking career has passed and for years I’ve been all about simple. Maybe it’s my love of the food of Italy that brought me to the realization that if you use the best ingredients you don’t need to do that much to them.

Veal Stuffed Zucchini

1 pound ground veal
1 egg
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 cup freshly ground Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
8 globe zucchini
Your favorite tomato sauce (I roasted San Marzano tomatoes from the garden and made a simple sauce)

Bring large pot of water to a boil. Add a little salt and zucchini. Parboil until the zucchini are slightly tender, about 4 minutes. Remove from water and cool. When cool slice the top off and scoop out the flesh (you can discard this or save for another dish).

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix veal with egg, cheese, parsley, salt and pepper. Stuff each zucchini with veal mixture and top with its lid. Place in baking dish and top with tomato sauce. Bake for 30 minutes. Serves 8 as a side course or 4 as an entree.

You may have extra veal filling left-I like to use it for mini meatballs.

20 thoughts on “Simply Stuffed

  1. What a beautiful dish – light and perfect for summer! Brava!

  2. Hi, Panini Girl! This dish looks delish! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  3. I love those round zucchini. I don’t see them here in Australia.

  4. Sounds and looks like a perfect all-round meal Janie! Such a great match up of shapes and colours too! x

  5. Nice reminder. Simple is best. Good fresh ingredients is the answer

  6. looks delicious!!!! need to make that soon

  7. I think I might try this but with cucuzzielli…long slightly curved hairy zucchini things growing in the garden!

  8. This has got to be one of my favorite ways to enjoy those globe zucchini.

  9. These were absolutely delicious and I love the globe shape…very flavorful and fun to eat!

  10. These look wonderful. I just posted a similar recipe today ~ must be the season. I don’t know why people complain about having too many zucchini. They are such a gift. 🙂

  11. Domenica-We just planted a few new zucchini plants to carry us into the fall-there’s just so much to do with them.

  12. I had forgotten all about this wonderful dish!! We used to have it frequently while I was growing up, but somehow it’s fallen off the usual recipe track. Thanks for reminding me and giving me a healthy idea for dinner tonight!

  13. You posted one of my favorite ways to enjoy zucchini. They are so attractive too, to serve at the table in this way. Funny how you and Domenica posted the same thing!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

