Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

March 28, 2013
paninigirl

15 comments

Lemon Angel Pie

meringue

I haven’t eaten any chocolate in forty-four days and for a someone who has chocolate every single day, that’s saying something. It’s my self imposed Lenten fast and I always survive, but am constantly looking for something sweet to tide me over until Easter.

When planning the menu for our recent dinner party I debated over desserts with strawberry and rhubarb. I considered a ricotta cheesecake too, but my thoughts kept returning to lemons. I wanted to finish the evening with a dessert that would be light, yet luscious. I remembered a Wall Street Journal article about meringues and there it was-Lemon Angel Pie-meringue, lemon curd and whipped cream.

You can make the curd a few days ahead and the meringue the day before. Just before serving whip up some cream and in just a few minutes your pie will be ready to go.

baked

I was so enamored with my recent lemon tart that I used that recipe for the curd, made a double batch and ended up with some left over. I’m happy to just eat it by the spoonful. Combined with the crispy meringue and whipped cream and you’ve got one easy do-ahead dessert.

Screen shot 2013-03-24 at 3.31.01 PM

Lemon Angel Pie

Double batch of lemon curd (see link above)
1 cup whipping cream, whipped with a little sugar

Meringue

4 room-temperature egg whites

Pinch of salt

½ teaspoon cream of tartar
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons superfine sugar

¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment and draw a 10-inch circle on it. Turn paper over.

With the whisk attachment in place, beat egg whites, salt and cream of tartar in the bowl of an electric mixer set on medium-low speed. When frothy, increase the speed to medium-high and beat until the whites form soft peaks.

About 2 teaspoons at a time, add sugar while continuing to beat. Increase the speed to high and beat until stiff and glossy. Beat in vanilla.

Spoon meringue into the traced circle, smooth with a spatula and shape like a shallow bowl.

Place in the lower third of the oven, reduce heat to 200 degrees, and bake for at least 5 hours (the longer it stays in, the surer you can be that the shell will arrive at crisp perfection). Then turn off the oven and leave the meringue in the turned-off oven to cool, preferably overnight.

Spread lemon curd over meringue. Top with whipped cream and some grated lemon zest. Serves 8-10

Autumn In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca-it’s not too early to start making plans!

15 thoughts on “Lemon Angel Pie

  1. Yum. I make something similar for Passover, but will try this over the weekend. After lent, try drizzling chocolate over the top and placing a few raspberries on top. Or, try the raspberries without the chocolate. Either way is really good.

  2. yummy, sort of like a pavalova but more delish:)

  3. It was absolutely delicious…the lemon curd, perfect

  4. I love the rustic, effortless look Janie. Beautiful photos too. Buona Pasqua!

  5. This sounds amazing!

    I, too, am having to give up chocolate for the time being, because it makes my little nursling fussier. It’s tough, though!

  6. This is similar to a dessert I make that everyone loves! In a springform pan alternate 3 times a disc of meringue, lemon curd and good quality vanilla ice cream (with some lemon juice mixed into the ice cream). Crumble another disc of meringue on top and freeze. Using a total of 4 meringues. My meringue is a little more like a pavlova style using some cornstarch. I will try your version too!

  7. You have inspired me to make this. There are untold egg whites in my freezer right now looking for a home.

  8. Oh my, this looks like heaven! I adore lemon desserts. Would be tasty with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Cabbage Stuffed Cabbage Rolls | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

