November 12, 2012
paninigirl

3 comments

Graham Cracker Bars

In my quest to find a recipe for a pecan and brown sugar bar from a local cafe (which does not divulge recipes) I stumbled upon these graham cracker bars. Although they are not exactly what I was hoping for, they are pretty darn good and for now they will serve to satisfy my sweet tooth.

I came across this recipe in a cookbook that I hadn’t looked at for quite some time-The Open House Cookbook by Sarah Leah Chase. The bar that I am hoping to recreate has a more cake-like consistency and is not quite as gooey and dense as this one. Would I use this recipe again? Absolutely, but I am going to rework it and see what I can come up with.

Crust

3 cups graham cracker crumbs

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, at room temperature

1/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons flour

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl with an electric mixer, or in the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the graham cracker crumbs, butter, sugar and flour until moist and well-blended. Press the mixture firmly and evenly over the bottom of a 13-inch by 9-inch baking pan. Bake until the crust is golden brown, 10 to 15 minutes.

Topping

2 1/2 cups brown sugar

4 extra-large eggs

2/3 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup pecans, chopped

1 prepared crust

Powdered sugar, if desired

1. While the crust is baking, in a large bowl, whisk together the brown sugar and eggs to blend. Whisk in the graham cracker crumbs, vanilla, salt and baking powder until well-blended. Stir in the pecans.

2. Spread the mixture over the baked crust and return to the 350-degree oven until the filling is dark-golden on top and jiggles slightly when tapped, 20 to 25 minutes. Transfer the pan to a cooling rack and cool completely.

3 thoughts on “Graham Cracker Bars

  1. Looks scrumptious, I’d like a side of vanilla pudding with these 🙂

  2. I liked them, I really liked them, Thanks!

  3. Looking really delicious and easy to make!!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

