Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

October 22, 2012
paninigirl

8 comments

Butternut Squash Gratin

It’s amazing how easy it is for me to switch gears at the end of the season and forge ahead leaving behind my summer favorites and jumping right into fall. I must say that I always yearn for a big pile of vine ripened tomatoes on my counter, but besides that I am happy to be cooking with whatever is in season and looks best at the market.

This recipe couldn’t be any easier and I dare say that the most difficult step is peeling and chopping the butternut squash! Once that’s done you simply roast, mash and prepare a crumb topping and into the oven it goes. I served this alongside a chicken roasted with balsamic onions and as I tucked into the creamy gratin I felt that fall had definitely shown up.

Zucca Gratinata (Squash Gratin from Southern Italian Farmers’ Table)

1 butternut squash, about 3 pounds, peeled, seeded and cut into 2″ chunks
Kosher salt
6 tablespoons extra-virign olive oil
3/4 cup coarse bread crumbs
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1 tablespoon chopped sage
1/2 cup pecorino cheese
Freshly ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Put the squash in a colander and generously sprinkle with salt. Let the squash sit for about 30 minutes, then rinse and pat dry.

Put the squash on a baking sheet and toss with 2 tablespoons olive oil and a pinch of salt. Roast in the oven until the squash is tender, about 25 to 30 minutes. Remove from oven and place in a bowl and mash until it is mostly smooth. Spread into a baking dish (8′ x 8″ or something similar).

In a small bowl toss together the bread crumbs, sage, parsley, pecorino, 1/2 teaspoon salt and a few grinds of pepper. Mix in the remaining 1/2 cup olive oil and top the squash with this mixture. Bake until the crumbs are nicely browned, about 25 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool slightly before serving. Serves: 6

Spring In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca

8 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Gratin

  1. mmm I might make this…the squash is the hardest to cut but now I can get it pre cut at costco. I sometimes will make moke french fries with it.

  2. Pumpkin is autumn on a plate. I love this recipe Janie. I also love your glass bowl too….always got my eye on your gorgeous kitchenware these days too. 😉

  3. Can’t wait to make this one. Trader Joe’s had butternut squash for $1.99 EACH so we are loaded up for the beginning of the season.

  4. Janie, I have never met a gratin I didn’t love. This looks so fantastic and I will make it this week. Thanks for the inspiration!!!

  5. Pingback: Butternut Squash & Caramelized Onion Tart | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

