Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

August 7, 2012
paninigirl

11 comments

Tomato Time

This photo just makes me happy. Most of the tomatoes on this platter came from our small garden. I struggle to take photos when I’m in the midst of trying to get food on a table during a dinner party, so instead you’re seeing the before photo. What could be easier than a summer tomato salad?

I sliced the large tomatoes and fanned them out on the platter. Next tossed the cherry tomatoes around and drizzled my best extra-virgin olive oil (from Umbria) and a tad of red wine vinegar over the top. Finished off with some chopped shallots, basil from the garden torn into pieces and some crumbled gorgonzola. Sea salt and freshly ground pepper and you’re good to go. Buon appetito!

11 thoughts on “Tomato Time

  1. That looks really yummy!

  2. That plate of tomatoes is a thing of beauty.

  3. And it was truly as delicious as it was beautiful!

  4. Cheap, chic and delicious Janie. If you were any closer I’d be inviting myself round for lunch! 😉

  5. Looks like some yummy heirlooms. Always my fave!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

