Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

August 6, 2012
paninigirl

5 comments

Peach Ice Cream Pie

We’re in the dog days of August and what’s a better way to end a meal than with ice cream! While planning the menu for our recent dinner party I kept adding possible desserts to my list. There were crostatas and crumbles and even semifreddo. I knew that it would be a fruit based dessert, rather than my usual “go to”- anything with chocolate. The fruit at the market is just too good to pass up at this time of year.

In the back of my mind I kept thinking about a frozen pie with peach ice cream. I did a thorough search of my files for such a recipe and came up empty handed. Eventually I went to Epicurious and there it was in a 2010 issue of Bon Appetit.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, however I did not use quite as many peaches and also used about 1-1/2 quarts of ice cream. The peaches that I had were ripe and juicy and so I didn’t feel the need for all that brown sugar-at the most I used 1/3 cup. By all means use this recipe as a starting point and make it your own. The amaretti crust was outstanding and I would not change that at all.

My photo was taken in between freezings and does not show the final product topped with whipped cream and amaretti cookie crumbles. It was pretty amazing!

Peach Ice Cream Pie

Nonstick vegetable oil spray
1 1/3 cups finely ground amaretti cookies (Italian macaroons) plus 1/2 cup coarsely crushed cookies
1 tablespoon sugar
2 pinches of salt
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
3 pounds firm but ripe peaches, halved, pitted, cut into 3/4-inch-wide wedges
1 cup (packed) plus 1 tablespoon golden brown sugar, divided
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 1/4 quarts vanilla ice cream (9 cups)
2/3 cup chilled heavy whipping cream

Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 9-inch glass pie dish with nonstick spray. Mix finely ground cookie crumbs, 1 tablespoon sugar, and pinch of salt in medium bowl. Add lukewarm melted butter; mix to blend. Press crumbs onto bottom and up sides of dish. Bake until golden around edges, about 10 minutes. Cool completely in dish on rack.

Preheat broiler. Line rimmed baking sheet with foil. Coat with nonstick spray. Arrange peaches in even layer on sheet. Broil until beginning to brown, watching closely to avoid burning, 3 to 5 minutes. Sprinkle 1/4 cup brown sugar over peaches. Broil until sugar melts and caramelizes, rotating sheet for even cooking, 2 to 3 minutes longer. Transfer peaches and juices to bowl (leave any burned parts behind).

Add 3/4 cup brown sugar, lemon juice, and pinch of salt to peaches; stir until sugar dissolves. Cover; chill until cold, about 2 hours.

Slightly soften ice cream in microwave on low power in 20-second intervals. Transfer to large bowl. Add broiled-peach mixture. Fold to incorporate peaches (peaches will break apart). Spoon about 2/3 of ice cream into cooled crust; smooth top. Cover and freeze pie and remaining peach ice cream separately until firm, about 4 hours. Using medium-size ice cream scoop, scoop remaining ice cream in bowl in level coops and arrange in concentric circles top pie. Freeze pie.

DO AHEAD: Can be made days ahead. Cover and keep frozen.
Using electric mixer, beat cream and remaining 1 tablespoon brown sugar in medium bowl until peaks form. Sprinkle coarsely crushed amaretti cookies over pie. Cut into wedges and serve with dollop of brown sugar whipped cream.

5 thoughts on “Peach Ice Cream Pie

  1. Lovely Post! That looks to die for!

    Adieu, scribbler

  2. Peaches are my favourite summer fruit….and I love the photo too Janie! Looks divine! x

  3. We’ve been eating peaches for a few weeks, and they have been REALLY good this year (from GA mainly) so I can almost taste this post!! LOL!

  4. I love peach ice cream Janie-that looks like a heavenly dessert!!

  5. Oh WOW that looks wonderful! Peaches are my favorite fruit and I adore peach ice cream. YUM!!!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

