July 26, 2012
paninigirl

15 comments

All Tarted Up!

Okay. I can’t help myself. I’ve got a tart addiction and I readily admit it. Maybe it’s the buttery, flaky crust. Perhaps it’s the versatility of the the tart itself. You can make it savory or sweet and the choice of fillings is endless. You probably aren’t surprised to see that I am using zucchini again. I told you I have a bumper crop.

One of the best things about these tarts is that they are perfectly portable. You can transport it on a serving platter or even on a baking sheet and take it to a party or a picnic. I’m sending you back a few weeks to my post on a tomato tart for the crust recipe. A slice of these vegetable tarts makes a nice appetizer and along with a salad you’ve got a great lunch.

Filling

2 medium zucchini, thinly sliced (I used a mandoline, but you can just use a knife and slice about 1/4″ thick or a little less)
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1/4 cup goat cheese
freshly grated zest of 1/2 lemon
1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves
1 tablespoon grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
salt and freshly ground pepper
extra-virgin olive oil
1 egg, beaten with a little water

Mix ricotta and goat cheese together until smooth. Add lemon zest and salt and pepper to taste. Roll out your dough into a circle and place on a parchment lined baking sheet. Spread cheese mixture over the dough, leaving a 2″ border. Arrange zucchini slices in an overlapping pattern. Sprinkle with fresh thyme leaves, salt, pepper and the grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Drizzle a little olive oil over the zucchini. Fold the the edges of the crust up over the filling. Brush the crust with the beaten egg. Bake at 375 degrees for about 35 minutes. Serves: 4 as a main course, 6-8 as an appetizer

15 thoughts on “All Tarted Up!

  1. Ohhh….I need to try this as soon as I have zucchinis in my garden which is proving difficult since I keep harvesting the blossoms!

  2. I would make this without the goat’s cheese. I must be the only person who hates this stuff.

    • Debra-the goat cheese certainly can be eliminated but this really doesn’t have a strong flavor. I’m not sure that my husband loves it either-he didn’t know it was in there until he read your comment.

  3. This looks too darn delicious to keep staring at. Have to run to the store for goat cheese and ricotta. The zucchini are plentiful.

  4. I would add some Krakas Polish ham–very thinly sliced. YUM!

  5. Gonna make this tonight for dinner. Yum.

  6. Looking forward to making this on the weekend! we are going to a cheese making workshop and will bring home some fetta and ricotta so I also have your tomato tart lined up. Thank you so much from south australia 🙂

  7. So I’ve made this tart three times now and posted it a couple of days ago on my blog. Everyone LOVES it – and it looks so pretty too. Thanks for the recipe idea.

  8. Pingback: Blueberry Crostata | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

