Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

July 17, 2012
paninigirl

13 comments

Just Peachy

While I was making the dough last week for my tomato tart I couldn’t help but think that there would be a sweet version with peaches somewhere in my future. I’ve never been much of a pie baker, but the one crust crostata is right up my alley.

We were invited to a friend’s house for dinner and I offered to bring dessert. This crostata comes together in a snap and it’s fine to make the dough a day or two ahead. I used the exact same dough as for my tomato tart (linked above) with the addition of a tablespoon of sugar.

The filling was simply 3 large, ripe peaches that I peeled (drop in boiling water for less than a minute, remove and the skin comes right off) and sliced. I tossed these with about a teaspoon or two of flour, a tad of sugar and some freshly grated nutmeg.

Once you roll out your dough, fan your peaches out into a circle and fold the edges of the dough up over the top. Brush the crust with a little beaten and egg and sprinkle with sugar. I always bake on a parchment lined baking sheet and this went into a 375 degree oven for about 35 minutes.

There was something about this crostata that inspired me to make ice cream-something I haven’t done in about ten years. I had visions of creamy vanilla ice cream melting over the warm crostata. If I must say so myself, it was pretty darn good.

13 thoughts on “Just Peachy

  1. Yum! I have been meaning to make a dessert with peaches, and this looks just the ticket! thanks!

  2. Che meraviglia!! I too am a fan of the one crust Janie. Not least of all because it looks so amazingly rustic and effortless in all the right ways. I love that it’s a no egg pastry too. That reminds me. You say dough, we say pastry. I was wondering if you could put your measurements in metric as well as imperial for your many international readers…;-) See how you go. xxxx

  3. I love how simple so many of your recipes are, yet so delicious.

    • Shelagh-I’m all about simplicity. When I was younger I felt like I had to make all these complicated things, but no longer! It’s what I love about Italian food-the utter simplicity and fabulous flavors.

  4. Nice!! I looove nutmeg in with peaches!

  5. What a great summertime dessert. Can’t wait to make this.

  6. Reblogged this on Beyond The Yum and commented:
    Another version for your peach pie and tart lovers. Some delish looking recipes here too…go see…

  7. Pingback: Rhubarb Strawberry Crostata | Panini Girl

  8. Pingback: Blueberry Crostata | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

