June 12, 2012
paninigirl

4 comments

La Sorbetteria Castiglione-Bologna

Tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood near the Porta Castiglione is one of the best gelaterias that I’ve ever been to. Had it not been for my friend Palma I may have never stumbled on to this temple to the art of gelato making. Until I actually looked at a map I didn’t realize how close this shop was to my hotel (Hotel Porta San Mamolo). Lucky me!

After being in Italy for almost three weeks I can attest to having tasted more than my fair share of gelato. I had my favorite shop in Lucca and immediately found one in Bologna that I thought was very good and then I visited the La Sorbetteria and everything else paled in comparison.

I usually go for hazelnut, or pistachio and this shop has these and all the other standard flavors and then there are the le creme speciali. These are seven incredible creations and it took me a few minutes before I could even make a selection.

I went back a few times during my stay and I have to say that my favorite was called the Michelangelo-a combination of chocolate and what I can only describe as almond brittle. I was almost in a daze walking down the street trying to finish it before it melted. It’s a lucky thing that I was heading home where I rarely get gelato. I’m not sure any other gelaterias in Italy could compete with this one, but in the name of research I am willing to keep looking!

Autumn In Tuscany-Cook-With Panini Girl In Lucca

4 thoughts on “La Sorbetteria Castiglione-Bologna

  1. Did you try the gelato at the Cremeria Funivia? Their hazelnut and almond ice-creams are wonderful. It is the only gelateria I went to in Bologna, but next time I’ll try the Sorbetteria Castiglione – it sounds amazing!

  2. Nora-I didn’t know about it or I would have tried it. Next time I’ll make sure to stop by although this place will be hard to beat!

  3. I’ve made note and will try their gelato when in Bologna in October, thanks for mentioning it.

  4. Thanks for being the Advance Scout in Bologna….LOL! Next time we go there, I’ll be sure to help continue the research!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

