June 6, 2012
paninigirl

11 comments

Holding Onto Italy

I’ve already talked about Bringing Italy Home here and here last year and here the year before. If you’ve ever been to Italy you know how many incredible items there are to stuff into your suitcase.

Once home I try to insert a little bit of Italy into each and every day. I make my morning espresso in a stove top coffee pot, just like my grandmother used. I usually have a batch of freshly baked biscotti on hand. We eat pasta at least a few times a week, sometimes hand made, other times fabulous dried pasta from Italy. And then there are times when we seek out real Italian food and here in San Diego, that’s no easy feat.

So off we go to Pizzeria Mozza in Newport Beach. It’s an hour away, but well worth the drive. We love to sit at the bar and watch the pizzas being made. On our last visit we were immediately taken in by the “special appetizer” of burrata cheese. “Yes, yes” we said and were thrilled with it on the very first bite-slightly sweet, a little tangy and oh so creamy and just perfect on top of the olive oil doused crusty bread. The couples on either side of us were entranced as they watched us devour it and also placed orders.

It was amazing and it was flown in directly from Italy, or so they said and I do believe them. Having just returned form Italy a few days before I cracked up when I saw the bill-the burrata was $25! After paying and pushing our chairs out from the bar I was tempted to tell our neighbors at the counter about the price. I just couldn’t do it-they were having too much fun eating it and it didn’t seem fair to spoil their fun.

Autumn In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca

Spring 2013 Dates announced: May 11 to May 18-mark your calendars!

11 thoughts on “Holding Onto Italy

  1. Absolutely love burrata! I make my own mozzarella cheese here is Seattle and would love to know how to make burrata. The price seems high, we always enjoy it at The North Beach restaurant in San Fran…I don’t remember it being that expensive.

  2. $25 for burrata? Oiy!!! All the reason we should learn how to make simple fresh cheeses at home! I like the title of today’s article, “Holding onto Italy”. “Holding on” is something I do when returning from La Madre Terra, that is 99% of what I bring back are cookbooks, kitchen utensils, culinary magazines, recipes collected from whomever I meet from family to strangers (always travel with a pen and pad). Though expensive because of your photo of the burrata with the olive oil at the moment I could see me paying a king’s ransom for the cheese without remorse, ahh, che gioia!!

  3. Just wanted to tell you I love reading your blog. My husband and I met in Italy during his R&R from the Army in 2010 and learned to make pasta and tiramisu and a bunch of other wonderful goodies from a chef in Florence. We spent 7 days in Rome, 4 in Florence, and 6 in Venice… where we experienced a rare blizzard in that country. To see the snow falling heavily on the waterway during our boat trip to Lido was gorgeous! It’s a trip we’ll never forget and we always talk about. I look forward to your blog every day. Thank you for letting me relive our vacation-of-a-lifetime when I read your blog!

    • Vicki-thank you for the compliment. I would love to go to Venice in the winter when the crowds are down. What a wonderful place to rendezvous with your husband.

  4. Janie! Hold on tight honey! Save the pennies for the real deal in September!1 😉 baci. xx

  5. I love burrata, but I don’t think I would want to pay that much for it. I pay about $10 for it at home in Australia….bad enough.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

