June 5, 2012
paninigirl

9 comments

Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms

It’s that time again. Seeing that here in southern California our weather is warmer than a lot of other places, summer vegetables are starting to appear at the farmers’ market. Of course it’s still too early for tomatoes, but zucchini have been around for a few weeks and with this versatile vegetable comes the added bonus of zucchini blossoms.

I usually stuff them with ricotta cheese, coat them in batter and deep fry, but this time I decided to try something different. Inspired by a starter we had in Lucca, I made a meat filling with veal and used this to stuff the sizable blossoms that I found out the market over the weekend. I knew I wanted to bake them, rather than frying so I set them in a baking dish on top of a little tomato sauce, covered with foil and popped them in the oven.

My filling was similar to a meatball. I used about a pound of ground veal, a handful of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano, a clove of minced garlic, some chopped parsley, about two tablespoons fresh bread crumbs, one egg, salt and pepper. After mixing all of this together, I spooned the mixture into the blossoms, twisted the ends closed and that was it. I baked them covered with foil in a 350 oven for about a half hour. Although not exactly what I remember having in Lucca, these were delectable and I plan on making them again.

Since I was just cooking for two, I only stuffed eight blossoms. With the extra filling I made mini meatballs for another meal.

Autumn In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca

9 thoughts on “Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms

  1. Oh how I love these little guys. Cannot wait to plant some in my new garden.
    The veal sounds wonderful.

  2. What a great idea to not fry them, but to use the tomato sauce…like that and will have to try it.

  3. They look beautiful and I imagine taste even better. Close your eyes and think of Italy!! xx

  4. looks divine!!!

  5. Guess what I bought today? Zucchini blossoms! I wanted to stuff and fry them, though. Any suggestions on a recipe?

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

