Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

May 28, 2012
paninigirl

15 comments

In Memory

I am dedicating this Memorial Day post to all the fallen soldiers who did not make it back home. Thank you for giving your life so that we might be free. My father fought in a tank division in World War 2 in northern Africa and then in the Italian campaign, landing in Salerno and continuing up to the Battle of Anzio and onward north. He was one of the lucky ones who survived the war, although many of is friends and comrades did not. In the photo he’s the one in front taking a nap!

I wonder where in Italy this shot was taken?

Happy Memorial Day!

15 thoughts on “In Memory

  1. Beautiful picture of your father and his friends. Shots like that were quite common back in the days of film as some labs printed every shot on the roll.

  2. I think there is good chance that is the Amalfi coast. If you look at teh winding road behind them it fits. Also, in the Italian campaign, I think before Anzio, many where stationed at Salerno – the beginning of the Amalfi coast, with Sorrento being the end.

    • Notes From Nonna-you may be right. I wish I had asked my dad more about his time in Italy, but he really didn’t want to talk about his time in the war. I am convinced he married my mother (the daughter of Italian immigrants) when he returned because he fell for Italy and its people while he was there!

  3. I normally use Mozilla and the second picture was just a black rectangle. After Nonna’s post, above, I opened your blog up in Chrome and lo and behold a beautiful picture. Therefore, please disregard most of what I said above! Thanks,

  4. Great, great post and dedication!

  5. I love the photos of Uncle Jack! I miss him x

  6. Thanks for sharing something so special and important. My oldest sister’s Dad was in WWII, and was not lucky enough to make it home to ever meet her…My Mom was pregnant when he left for the war…sad indeed. He is buried in France from what we have pieced together. Take care, and “Thanks” from us to him for serving!

    • Our Kitchen Inventions-I am sorry for your family’s loss. It’s amazing what the men of that generation did for us and for all those in Europe and the Pacific too. My dad was gone from before the war started until the very end.

  7. J.
    Great post for the day. Great pics of your dad. Thanks for your service Uncle Jack!
    C.

  8. 3 of my uncles were in the war. All came home, but one was changed forever. He would never speak about his experience…..such a waste of young lives.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

