May 22, 2012
paninigirl

no comments

Agretti

I noticed these bundles of grassy looking greens at markets all over Tuscany. I finally got up the nerve to ask one of the vendors what I should do with them and learned that they are simple to prepare. It wasn’t until I was home stateside that I got the opportunity to actually prepare agretti. I was the lucky recipient of a wonderful bag of produce from a friend who works at a famous local farm and there on top was a lovely bunch of agretti. I didn’t even know that anyone grew them around here.

Ashley and Jason over at La Tavola Marche wrote about them recently, although they called them by their other name-liscaro. Their instructions were exactly what the fruttivendolo in Italy told me. You boil them briefly, saute in garlic flavored oil and season with salt, chili flakes and a squeeze of lemon juice. A little bit like spinach but grassier, we devoured them and wish we had more! If you happen to spot them at your farmers’ market during their very brief season, by all means grab a few bunches and give it a go.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

