May 15, 2012
paninigirl

7 comments

Hello Bologna

It was with a heavy heart that I said good-bye to Lucca. After two wonderful weeks it was time for me to move on so I bid farewell to my group and to Lucca’s famous wall and hopped on a train to Bologna, ready for a new adventure. It would be my first time visiting there and I was more than anxious to explore its famous food market.

Thanks to my friend Palma from Palmabella’s Passions I was in the know about where to stay and which restaurants to try. She’s a pro on the area and was happy to give me the scoop on her favorite places. I can’t tell you how happy I was when my cab pulled up to the Hotel Porta San Mamalo. Tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood, this hotel was the perfect spot for me. I received a warm welcome from the staff and they were always available to answer questions and help with reservations.

My room was on an upper floorwith a view of the lovely courtyard below. I dropped off my bags and set out to see the city. I immediately was charmed by the neighborhood. It was very different from what I had expected and it reminded me of something you might see in Mexico or South America, with street after street of colorful buildings.

Before my visit I didn’t really know much about Bologna except that a good part of the city is covered with porticos, including my neighborhood. Perfect for getting out of the rain or staying out of the sun, there’s something alluring about these covered walkways. Map in hand I cruised the neighborhood and found my way to the center of the city, which was just a ten minute walk away. From the moment I rounded a corner and found myself in Piazza Maggiore, I knew I had made the right decision to come to Bologna.

7 thoughts on “Hello Bologna

  1. Guess what Janie? I stayed at the same hotel last time I was in Bologna! Small world. You are right about the location. Really residential and I love the covered walkways all over Bologna. xx

  2. There’s something pretty special about a portico. Makes the street feel so intimate.

  3. So pretty. Always love the colors of Italy in the sun, and the moon, and the rain, ….you get the picture, right? tee hee! Looks like a perfect hotel spot with that lovely courtyard.

  4. Hi,

    Is it possible to know the names of the restaurants you were recommended?

    THANKS

    brgds

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

