May 12, 2012
paninigirl

3 comments

Around Town Pistoia

I may have not been able to visit Pistoia’s fabulous food shops on my recent visit, but I was able to stroll around town. When I visited the town with my group last year we were all about shopping and dining and didn’t enough time to do any exploring.

The Piazza del Duomo is an amazing collection of structures including the tower at the Palazzo Azzolini and the Baptistry of S. Giovanni in Corte.

One of the buildings that I missed on my previous visit was the L’Ospedale (the Ceppo Hospital) pictured below. Not far from the center of town this building’s facade is decorated with marvelous scenes made of ceramic glazed terracotta. The seven round medallions were done by Giovanni Della Robbia, son of Andrea della Robbia who popularized this style.

On the way back to the station I walked by one more beautiful church (S. Giovanni Fuoricivitas), this one an amazing display of marble.

Pistoia is an easy train ride from both Lucca and Florence. It’s off the tourist track and worth a visit if you are in the area and have a free day. Be sure to make your way to Piazza della Sala and its collection of food shops. You’ll be sure to walk away with an armful of Italian delicacies.

3 thoughts on “Around Town Pistoia

  1. Grazie Janie! I love love love the ceramics. The Della Robbia were so ahead of their time. Big favourites of mine so I must find a day to visit Pistoia. What an imposing piazza they have too. Those colours are Tuscany to a tee. Lovely post.

  2. Now, I am tempted to go there too….not ever enough time here in Italy to see it all, eh?

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

