May 4, 2012
paninigirl

16 comments

La Cioccolateria

It was bound to happen. I’m letting you in one one of my favorite spots in Lucca-la cioccolateria-the chocolate shop. There are actually two beautiful chocolate shops in town, but my favorite is Caniparoli Cioccolateria. I hesitate to admit how often I’ve been in this store in the last two weeks. I will own up to having stopped there on my very first day in town and have returned more than a few times. After all, I had to let my group in this little treasure, didn’t I?

The photo is a little fuzzy as I took it through the shop window. Look at these beauties. On the right is dark chocolate and white chocolate with rice krispies, sort of like the best Nestle crunch bar you’ve ever eaten. To the left are cornflakes coated with chocolate. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of my current obsession-a bar with a center of hazelnut cream sandwiched between two layers of chocolate-almost too good to share!

They also sell very decadent looking cakes and there’s a selection of biscotti. Of course my favorite are these ossa da mordere-crunchy bites of chocolate and whole hazelnuts.

Caniparoli Cioccolateria
Via San Paolino, 96
Lucca

16 thoughts on “La Cioccolateria

  1. My favourites are the cioccolatini (chocolate truffles) filled with all sorts of yummy flavours of ganache, from coffee to rum to gianduia and many more. Unfortunately they don’t make them in the summer months because without preservatives, they would spoil in the heat. You need to come to Lucca between October and April to enjoy them.

  2. Ah yet another reason to return to Lucca

  3. This is the one in Via San Paolino I think. Did you try the chocolate covered gooseberries????

  4. The shop must smell incredible too… I don’t really eat chocolate but I love the aroma…. Just took a look their website now. Such a beautiful shop too. Enjoy Janie. Chocolate that looks that beautiful can only do you good! xx

  5. Okay, that’s just cruel! You shouldn’t be able to show us such a thing without being able to reach right into the computer and sample a bit of each. You lucky girl. Do enjoy.

  6. You had me at something like a Nestles crunch bar-my favorite candy bar-forget gelato – I want those!

  7. How did I miss this shop on my visit to Lucca last September? It’s on my list now!

  8. That’s it…. I’m coming on the fall tour….. Whoops, bean spilling 🙂

  9. your so right heather-you have to go with janie for ALL GOOD THINGS IN LUCCA –can not wait to return myself–as always janie its all amazing!!!!

  10. All I can say is Yum, Yum, Yum!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

