Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

May 1, 2012
paninigirl

13 comments

Sunday Lunch

Sunday lunch is a big deal here in Italy. Family and friends get together for that mid day meal and while I am sure that there are amazing meals being cooked at home by mamma, many Italians choose to dine out. I learned my lesson the hard way last year in Arezzo when I tried to join in and dine at a restaurant recommended by a friend. I did not have a reservation, and sadly I was turned away.

I chose a restaurant recommended by my rental agent and was not disappointed. Osteria Miranda is located near the end of Via Fillungo in Piazza Santa Maria. The interior was charming and my fuzzy photo does not do it justice. I loved all the old signs Cinzano signs adorning the walls and the splashes of red here and there.

Immediately upon seeing the menu I knew we had to order a few of the starters. The sformato di carciofi (a sort of artichoke flan) was exactly the kind of dish that I dream about-luscious and creamy with a subtle artichoke flavor. I fiori di zucca (zucchini blossoms) with a ground meat stuffing is a dish that I am definitely going to recreate at home. Being that it was a cool and rainy day we all ordered soup. The others tried a seafood stew while I went for the Zuppa Frantoiana-a local specialty, this one featuring beans, zucchini, cavolo nero and carrots drizzled with the local olive oil. Just the heart warming dish I had hoped for.

The place was hopping and there were lots of locals waiting outside and I was glad that I had the foresight to make a prenotazione (reservation).

13 thoughts on “Sunday Lunch

  1. That soup sounds wonderful….perfect choice.

  2. Beautiful blog…tks to love Italy!!
    …but now I’m hungry!!!

  3. The artichoke flan must be delicious.

  4. A friend of mine is in Lucca right now. She posted this on FB and I thought I’d pass it on in case you wanted to check it out. “Toured a wonderful farm today where they produce wine, olive oil and honey in Lucca, it’s all with a system called Biodynamics, organic and natural as possible… http://www.fabbricadisanmartinotv.it/
    Fabbrica di San Martino”

  5. You had me at the sformato di carciofi!

  6. Just the perfect meal for a drizzly day!

  7. Sounds like a perfect way to spend a Sunday even if its raining you’re still in ITALY!!

  8. Pingback: Woo Me With A Sformato « Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

