Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

April 16, 2012
paninigirl

4 comments

Do You Have A Sweet Tooth?

I was responsible for dessert for our Easter celebration last week and as much as I wanted to make something spectacular, I was baking for thirty plus guests and a cake or tart just wouldn’t fit the bill. Was I looking for the easy way out? Well maybe, but I also knew that the two “bars” that I chose would be appreciated by all and would allow me time to make my “Italian Easter Pie”.

There are more than a few family members that fondly remember my lemon squares from parties past and I thought they would be perfect accompanied with mini Charlie’s Chocolate Cookies“. I was all set to start melting chocolate when J. walked in with a big bag of pecans and in an instant I changed my plans to Pecan Squares.

This recipe comes form the original Silver Palate Cookbook and I’ve been making them for what seems like forever. They are the perfect combination of a very buttery crust and a gooey pecan topping with a hint of honey thrown in. Although they are rich, there is something slightly addictive about them. I made sure to only hold a few of them back at home. I do have a sweet tooth and these can be dangerous!

Photo is “borrowed”. Once I assembled my dessert platter, there was no time for taking photos before dessert was served.

Silver Palate Pecan Squares

Crust

2/3 cup confectioners’ sugar
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 lb sweet butter, softened

Topping

2/3 cup melted sweet butter (about 11 tablespoons)
1/2 cup honey
3 tablespoons heavy cream
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 1/2 cups shelled pecans, coarsely chopped

Crust: Preheat oven to 350°F Grease a 9 x 12 inch baking pan.

Sift sugar and flour together.Cut in butter, using two knives or a pastry blender, until fine crumbs form. Pat crust into the prepared baking pan. Bake for 20 minutes; remove from oven.

Topping: Mix melted butter, honey, cream and brown sugar together. Stir in pecans, coating them thoroughly. Spread over crust.

Return to oven and bake for 25 minutes more. Cool completely before cutting into squares. Yield: 36-48 squares

4 thoughts on “Do You Have A Sweet Tooth?

  1. This is one of my favorite dessert recipes to make for gatherings, and I think it was because of you, years ago. I still love them!!

  2. I love pecan pie, so this looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

