March 19, 2012
paninigirl

17 comments

If I Can’t Be In Italy…

… I’ll take Eataly. I may be one of the last Italophiles in the US to visit this temple to the cuisine of Italy, but it was certainly worth the wait. You mention that you’ve been to NYC and friends ask “did you go to the Guggenheim or the Frick or the Met” and I all I want to say is “who has time for museums when there’s Eataly “.

It was everything I had hoped for-one big Italian food fest with culinary delights at every turn. We first did a walk through to get a lay of the land and then headed back to the coffee bar for a cappuccino to fortify ourselves for the day.

Yes. It was perfect, as if we were in Italy.

Off we went to explore the endless shelves stocked with every imaginable food product. It was sort of mind boggling. Pasta, rice, grains, olive oils, vinegars, olives, spreads, chocolates, coffee, jams, tomatoes, sauces and more. I was happy to find a caper spread from Pantelleria (island off of Sicily known for its gorgeous capers) that I’ve been searching for since I first tasted it about 7 years ago.

In addition to the amazing number of grocery products there was cheese, salumi, freshly baked bread and pasta.

The agnolotti al plin that I bought transported me right back to a memorable afternoon in Serralunga (in Piemonte). Little puffs of pasta filled with meat and vegetables that just melt in your mouth.

And of course there were pastries. Although they were beautiful, I was sort of disappointed as I had been expecting pasticcini, the bite size confections found in the pasticceria (pastry shops) all over Italy. These were much larger and most were priced at $5.

There are a variety of restaurants where you can sit and order a meal, but we opted for a selection of panini that we devoured standing up at one of the bar-like tables located around the building. They were all delectable and after a cup of gelato we left quite happy, laden with our purchases.

Eataly
200 5th Avenue
New York, NY 10010

17 thoughts on “If I Can’t Be In Italy…

  1. I went here in December and loved it! There is also Batali’s other Italian Market, Tarry Market, in Port Chester… right next to Tarry Lodge. mmmmmmmm…

  2. I was just here today. I love this place! Great post 🙂

  3. What an amazing day out…. Great training for the real thing too!!!

  4. Thank you for giving us a little peek into a wonderful place I hope to visit soon, if I can’t get to Italy in the next few years, this will be th next best thing!

  5. I haven’t been to Eataly in New York, but the one in Torino is mighty fine.

  6. The pictures are amazing. I can’t wait to go and try something else. Thanks for the memories.

  7. I’m one of the last Italian Americans who hasn’t been there yet but getting there in the next few weeks. Thank you for the great sneak peek. Now to figure out how I’ll bring all those goodies back on the train.

  8. What a fantastic place. Makes me so hungry looking at your gorgeous photos. While I love petite desserts…these looked delectable. Next time in NYC, will check this out. Thanks for sharing.

  9. Don’t feel too bad – you’ve made it there before I have! It looks like a wonderful place. I wonder if they have any plans to expand to the West Coast?

  10. If they do I see P. girl going there with a sleeping bag for a salumi party!

    (Or is it slumber party?)

  11. Pingback: Eataly Bologna « Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

