March 8, 2012
paninigirl

14 comments

Take Me To The Top

Yes, that’s one of the most well known sights in Lucca, the Guinigi Tower. If you’ve already visited Lucca there’s a good chance that you’ve been up in the tower. The views of the city and the surrounding are are amazing, or so I’m told. I didn’t quite make it to the top. I did go into the tower and climbed a fair amount of steps, and although I didn’t see the view from the top (due to fear of heights) I did see these wonderful framed pieces covering the wall on the way up.

I found them quite fascinating as they appear to depict a bit of the history of Lucca. As you can see, there’s a fair amount of defending the city and a bit of warfare and head chopping that I’m happy to have missed.

14 thoughts on “Take Me To The Top

  1. What marvellous paintings! Are they protected or preserved in any way?

    • Karleen-they are encased in a glass frame-I have more photos, but there was a lot of glare from the glass and the sunlight. Debra from Bagni di Lucca also wrote about them and thought they were painted on silk.

  2. Just beautiful! I cannot wait to go to Italy in two weeks. So excited!

  3. I love the oak trees on top! I’ve been to Lucca but the tower is one my list now for the next visit…As you know I love a good stair climb! It’s fascinating how sweet the paintings are, given the gruesome subject matter!

  4. Your first picture is the view we had from the small piazza outside our B&B. We LOVE LUCCA!

  5. We stayed at La Romea. Owner is super nice, great location. The website doesn’t do it justice! If you arrive by car they will take you to a parking area where you can leave your car.

  6. Nice blog…food and travel…two great pleasures in life. I will be going to Italy for the 3rd time in September. Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

