February 24, 2012
paninigirl

10 comments

A Little Piece Of Puglia On Your Plate

I’m on a baking tear and I can’t help myself! I frequently have a batch of cookies in the works, but lately it’s been all about bread. There’s nothing like waiting, butter nearby, for that loaf to come out of the oven. Inspired by Emiko Davis (check out my blogroll for the link), I couldn’t wait to get this olive bread going.

The dough is effortless to put together and I was thrilled with both the taste and texture of the loaf. The exterior is crusty, while the crumb is soft. I made two small loaves with the recipe and before I knew it, we had devoured one-first with butter and a little later with cheese. I have a vision of toasting a slice and drizzling it with a little olive oil. Breakfast anyone?

Pane Alle Olive

500 grams “00” flour (which comes out to be 17.6 ounces-use a scale!)
250 ml of lukewarm water (8.5 ounces)
7 grams dry yeast (about 1/3 of a packet)
1 tablespoon olive oil
pinch of salt
a handful or two of whole, pitted olives (I used Kalamatas-that’s what I had on hand)

Mix the yeast with a little bit if flour and some of the water to activate the yeast. When you see bubbles appear in the mixture, add the yeast mixture to the rest of the flour a little bit at a time until it becomes a dough. Add the salt and the olive oil.

Knead for about 10 minutes by hand (I did about 5 in the mixer and then finished it for a minute or two by hand). Place dough in a large bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let it rise in a warm place for at least an hour.

Add the olives and mix through the dough. Form into desired shape-I did filoncini-long, baguette-like loaves.Bake in a hot oven-400 degrees-for about 20 minutes, or until golden brown. These would also be great as small rolls.

10 thoughts on “A Little Piece Of Puglia On Your Plate

  1. Am going to make this for the weekend when famly is coming. Sounds delicious!

  2. Nothing better than kalamata bread. Grazie!!!!!

  3. This recipe made me smile. My little girl has loved olives and olive bread since she was tiny. And her father’s from Puglia…!

  4. olive bread is one of my favorites, it’s sooo delicious and healthy too! Perfect for breakfast with matching the best cup of coffee, ahh perfect!

  5. where can you buy 00 flour? what is the diffrens from other flour like allpurpose

    • Hannah-do you have an Italian market nearby? You can buy the flour there. Check out my link to Ciao Chow Linda-she recently wrote about 00 four. It’s very fine, almost like baby powder.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

