February 16, 2012
paninigirl

no comments

Cheater’s Chile Verde

Knowing it was going to be a stormy day I spent the morning trying to come up with a comforting sort of dish for supper. Originally I thought maybe chile or perhaps a chicken pot pie. I wanted it to be a one pot meal and something with a little spice to it. If I let up it up J. he would be calling for posole-the southwestern pork and hominy stew. I too enjoy this dish, but wanted to cook something a little less labor intensive. The idea of a pork based dish always appeals to me so I decided on what I like to call cheater’s chile verde.

When I make posole I first make a green chile sauce. For this stew I skip a few steps and I roast and skin poblano chiles and just throw them into the pot along with tomatillos that I’ve pureed and chunks of pork shoulder. Left to simmer for a few hours, the pork will be melt in your mouth tender with a sauce that will warm your heart.

Heat up some tortillas, make a salad with avocado thrown in and you’ve got one great meal!

Cheater’s Chile Verde

1 pork shoulder 2-4 pounds, cut into bite size pieces
1 pound fresh tomatillos, skinned, rinsed and pureed in food processor
3-4 large poblano chiles, roasted, peeled, seeded and diced *
1 onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Salt and pepper to taste
Water
1-2 cans “ranch style” beans (optional)

Heat canola oil in large dutch oven over medium heat. Saute onions until translucent, add garlic and saute for another minute or two. Add the chopped green chiles, pureed tomatillos, pork and spices. Add water to cover and season with salt and pepper. Increase heat to high and bring to a boil. Lower heat to a simmer, partially cover and let stew simmer for 2-1/2 to 3 hours. Check periodically, stir and add more water if needed. About 1/2 hour before serving add beans if you use them. Serves: 6

*I roast peppers on my outside grill. Char on all sides and them place in a plastic bag and let them steam and cool down. When cool, peel off the skin, slit open and scrape out seeds. If you have a gas stove you can roast the chiles right over your burner.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

