January 12, 2012
paninigirl

14 comments

Sailing Down Memory Lane

Don’t laugh. I love the movie (from 1994) “Only You” with Robert Downey Jr. and Marisa Tomei. I can’t remember the first time I watched this film, but it was before I had ever been to Italy. The story is endearing, but it was the scenes of Italy (Venice, Tuscany, Rome and Positano) that won me over. I fell hard and fast, especially for Positano and started formulating plans to get there.

We finally made it to Italy and after a few trips to the holy trinity (Rome, Florence and Venice) planned time in Positano. After a visit to Calitri, the homeland of my grandparents, we boarded a ferry in Salerno and off we went to Positano. The day was perfect. The sun was shining, temperature about 70 degrees and the seas were calm. The water was a color that I can’t even describe and I was in heaven and couldn’t believe where we were or where we were headed. The guy next to us spilled his beer onto my bag and all I could think was “I’m going to Positano!”.

Yes, this is the view from our room. I was delirious from the moment I opened the door and stepped into the room. It really was a beautiful space, but it was the view, yes my view that won me over. We had a patio with a lovely sofa, but it was being able to lie in bed and look out over the sea that really did it for me. It was as if I was the only person to ever stay in this room, gaze out from the balcony and behold this piece of paradise.

I watched “Only You” again last night. I felt the same sense of wonder about the beauty of Italy as the first time I saw this film. There was Positano in all its glory, only now I can say “yes, it’s perfect, when can we return?”.

14 thoughts on “Sailing Down Memory Lane

  1. My first sighting of Italy was way back in 1967 when I went with my husband to his Friulano home and met his family for the first time. Since then I’ve travelled back many times (I’ve lost count) and stayed for several months each time, and I NEVER tire of the beauty nor of the wonderful people. Can’t wait to get back. I’ve written a cookbook spotlighting the rustic and elegant food of Friuli, which I hope to see published soon. Keep writing. Cindy

  2. Yes, SOOO beautiful.

  3. I would love to go there, I’ve only been to Rome and Sicily. Positano is on my bucket list. To visit Nicki too in Positano. Have you seen her blog?

  4. Oh so stunning. It makes me long to Italy with every fiber in my body.

  5. Beautiful post. Grazie. I remember clambering down the almost vertical streets of Positano, trying to keep up with the little man carrying our luggage, some of it on his head!! A magical place. the light and the colours….mmmm. I want to go back! Do you remember the name of your hotel? Buca di Bacco by any chance? Just thinking, a trip to Positano would compliment Lucca beautifully. A taste of two Italies…Jx

    • Janine-I love that you have a memory of the man with your luggage! We actually handed ours over to someone as we got off the boat and all of a sudden I realized that maybe he wouldn’t take our bags to the hotel! I was so happy to be in Positano, I really didn’t care, but of course there they were when we checked into our room. The hotel was Punta Regina and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  6. What a lovely post – I have never been south of Rome, and I really want to go! I would love to know the name of your hotel – it looks fabulous and so romantic! I can only imagine how beautiful it must have been going to sleep and waking up to such a beautiful site! Thanks for posting!

  7. I also love “Only You”. My husband and I did a tour of Italy and went to Positano for a few days afterwards to relax before visiting relatives. I celebrated my 40th birthday at the Covo Dei Saraceni restaurant where Faith has dinner with ‘Damon Bradley’. A picture of that night is on my desk. Positano is pure magic! We often speak of returning to Italy. Hopefully we will in the next few years.

  8. Lorraine-I always wondered if there was actually a restaurant there with that name! What a wonderful place to celebrate your birthday. I imagined going to Positano for my birthday, but it’s in winter and doesn’t seem quite as appealing. I know at some point we will return to beautiful Positano.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

