Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

January 3, 2012
paninigirl

5 comments

Eat Your Potatoes!

This pizza couldn’t be simpler and I think it’s my new favorite. I make the dough the night before and leave it in the fridge to rise, but you can certainly buy your dough. Maybe it’s the fontina cheese (it’s worth looking for Italian fontina) or the crispy pancetta, but this pizza really is a winner.

As for the potatoes, I like to use yukon golds. You can slice them really thin and use them raw and they’ll end up being crispy on top of your pizza. I prefer to parboil them and slice them just a little bit thicker. This way you end up with a creamy tasting potato which paired with the fontina is delicious!

To assemble:

Scatter shredded fontina over your crust
Cover with your sliced potates
Cube some pancetta and fry in a little olive oil until crispy
Toss pancetta over pizza
Finish with chopped fresh rosemary

I really recommend using a pizza stone. I recently purchased a second one, which makes it a lot easier when we have guests over for pizza night. Preheat your oven with the stone inside at 500 degrees for at least 1/2 hour. Bake your pizza for about 10 minutes.

Want to come over for pizza some time?

5 thoughts on “Eat Your Potatoes!

  1. Yes, yes, I’d love to come over for pizza. This one looks fabulous and you can be sure I’ll be making it.

  2. that looks delicious

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Italian food | CoronaReginaBagniDiLucca

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

