December 31, 2011
paninigirl

3 comments

Good Bye Old Friend

The New Year is upon us. Out with the old, in with the new. I’ve never been one for resolutions, but I have been known to make lists of all the recipes I’d like to try in the upcoming months. I’m still uncertain as to what will be at the top of that list, but the one thing I am sure about is that I’ll be retiring my favorite apron. This is the apron that has seen me through countless hours in the kitchen and hundreds of recipes. The apron that has saved my tops and blouses from my spills and splatters. I have no recollection of exactly when I started wearing this apron, but as you can see by the frayed fabric, it was quite some time ago.

I do remember that this apron was a gift from my friends L & B. The front of it bears a recipe for biscotti from Maida Heatter, the queen of dessert cookbooks. Maybe they gave it to me along with one of the many cookbooks that I’ve received from them over the years. I have other aprons, but I only seem to wear them when this one is in the wash. I don’t really want to say good bye, but it’s time. So long old reliable. I’ll miss you but I have your replacement ready to go!

*I decided that I’d check the label before buying a new one, since this one held up so well for so many years. The apron was made by Chefware and I am happy to say that there’s a new one hanging on the hook next to the fridge. Oh, and by the way I’m not tossing this one-I’ll be wearing it on laundry day!

3 thoughts on “Good Bye Old Friend

  1. Happy NewYear! See you in Lucca.

  2. Funny how we make attachments to these kinds of things. I’m still mourning the loss of my favorite whisk earlier this year. Good luck with the new apron and Happy New Year!

  3. Lots of time and love in that old apron! Happy New Year with more great cooking and baking to come!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

