Panini Girl

My obsessions-Italy and Cooking

December 17, 2011
paninigirl

6 comments

Poppy Seed Thumbprints

Bring on the butter! I just can’t help myself from heating up the oven and whipping up another batch of cookies. I’m actually really looking forward to January 2nd when the holidays are over and I can hopefully get my compulsion to bake under control. I keep telling myself that we don’t need any more cookies and before I know it I’ve got butter coming to room temp on the counter and there are baking sheets lined with parchment lurking nearby.

I have a thing for poppyseeds and so when I saw this recipe in a cookbook I had forgotten about I knew I had to try them. The poppyseed cookie of my dreams is made by my good friend B. (former owner of the best bakery San Diego has ever seen), but in absence of a stash of his delectable cookies, these thumbprints will have to do.

Poppyseed Thumbprints (from Great Cookies by Carole Walter)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup poppy seeds
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly firm
1/2 cup sugar
2 large egg yolks
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Raspberry preserves
Apricot preserves

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together the flour, salt and poppy seeds in a large bowl.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, mix the butter on medium-low speed until smooth. Pour in the sugar and mix just until incorporated. Add the egg yolks and vanilla, mixing only until blended. Using a wooden spoon, stir in the dry ingredients in two additions, mixing just to combine after each addition. Do not overmix or this dough will become oily.

Roll the dough into balls about the size of a large walnut and place 2 inches apart on a lined cookie sheet. Using a wooden spoon with a rounded handle no wider than 1/2″, make a deep indentation with the tip of the handle in the center of each cookie.

Place the cookies in the oven. After 10 minutes, remove the cookies from the oven and re-press each indentation. Then fill the centers with preserves. Point the tip of the spoon down into the indentation and slide the preserves off with your fingertip. Do not overfill these or the preserves will run run over.

Return the cookies to the oven, rotating the pans top to bottom and front to back. Bake for 4 to 5 minutes longer until the cookies are golden brown around the edges. Using a spatula, loosen the cookies from the pans and cool on a wire rack. Yield: about 40 cookies

6 thoughts on “Poppy Seed Thumbprints

  1. I’ve been looking for cookie recipes from Forno Campo di Fiori and found my way here – lovely blog! I may not have found citrus scented cookies but I am enjoying these poppyseed thumbprints.

  2. Thumbprints are my favorite cookie, made with raspberry jam and rolled in finely chopped hazelnuts. I also love poppy seeds. This recipe is a must try. Merry Christmas!

  3. Your blog is beautiful and inspiring. Thanks for promoting the deliciousness of Italy.That is one of the reasons I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I bring a group of women to Liguria/Tuscany every September, and I received the award from the Cultural Comment Blog in Cinque Terre. You can see your nomination with the rules at my Italy Retreat blog: http://italyretreat.blogspot.com/2011/12/versatile-blogger-award.html
    Hope to meet you in person sometime.

    • Lenora-I am honored by the award-thank you so much. I look forward to reading about your travels and maybe we can meet up in Italy at some point. Lucca isn’t that far from Liguria!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

