November 8, 2011
paninigirl

2 comments

Forno Campo de’ Fiori-A Must In Rome

We’d never been to Rome. J. thought it would be too much of a big city and acted like it wasn’t important to visit. I thought differently, persevered and finally convinced him that we should add a visit to Rome to our itinerary which included points further north. We landed there at the beginning of April in the midst of the coldest weather in 100 years for that time off the year. Off we went bundled up (I had to actually go out and buy warmer clothes) with a list of places we had to see, many of them having to do with food.

Our hotel was located right near the Pantheon and it was an easy walk over to Campo de’ Fiori. Of course I wanted to check out the produce and flower vendors located there in the morning, but my real objective was to stop into Forno Campo de’ Fiori located on the piazza there. I had heard great things about this bakery and its famous pizza bianca.

We peered into the windows and watched in amazement at the bakers pulling out these incredibly long pizzas. When I say long I mean like between 3 and 4 feet! In we went, undeterred by the crowd of locals and muscled our way up to the counter. I know we ordered their pizza bianca and a few other things and everything was amazing. One bite in and I was already wondering if we could come back the following day. On subsequent trips to Rome we’ve returned to Forno Campo de’Fiori and it’s always as good as that very first time.

I recently found out that a friend is off to Rome next week and I was thinking of a few places to recommend. I started thinking about Campo de’Fiori and found this great video. It won’t take you long to see what the buzz is all about and you might just find yourself booking a flight to Rome!

Spring In Tuscany-Cook With Panini Girl In Lucca Don’t miss out- 2 spots left-grab a friend and come along!

2 thoughts on “Forno Campo de’ Fiori-A Must In Rome

  1. OMG!!! i HAVE NEVER SEEN A VIDEO SO MOUTH WATERING -WOW FROM CANNOLIS, TO CREAM PUFFS, TO PANINIS, TO SUPER LONG PIZZAS, I WANT IT ALL! STEVE LIKED IT TOO!!

  2. Unbelievable video! I am stopping there first when I get to Rome. I was mesmerized by all the amazing food. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

