August 23, 2011
paninigirl

10 comments

More On Pasta

Today is the last day to enter in the contest to win a copy of The Glorious Pasta of Italy so be sure to leave me a comment if you haven’t done so yet. In the mean time, the latest issue of La Cucuna Italiana (it’s the October issue)) arrived in the mail today and guess what? The entire issue is devoted to pasta!

Thumbing through the magazine brought me right back to eating in Italy where the simplest of ingredients are turned into the most sublime dishes. I have some pretty fine memories of dining on pasta day after day, something that I don’t really do at home. When in Italy I totally throw out the window any thoughts of “carbs and fats”, and eat whatever suits my fancy and somehow I end up coming home a few pounds lighter.

The pasta recipes are divided into five categories-those made with oil and butter, of course recipes with tomatoes, marinated sauces, vegetable toppings and selvaggina-those made with game. What won me over is that there are no less than seven different recipes based on the humble tomato. My advice is to go out and get this magazine, then stop at your nearest farm stand, load up on tomatoes and once home put the water on to boil. Happy Cooking!

10 thoughts on “More On Pasta

  1. My issue came a few weeks ago and I want to make every recipe! We don’t eat a lot of pasta at home either but we do in Italy! I always loose a few pounds too-must be all the walking up hills. Mind you I am not complaining. My new obsession is truffles-I will be searching for pasta with truffle dishes on the menus when I get back to Italy in 12 days!

  2. I have been thinking of getting a subscription for a while. Do you think it is worth it? Can I get a lot of the recipes online?

    • Samantha-I’m sort of torn about this magazine. Some months I love it and other times, not so much. It isn’t published every month-maybe 9 or 10 months of the year. I think you can get the recipes on line. I do enjoy any time they feature a place to visit in Italy.

  3. I love your blog and truly enjoy everything you write. Lucca is absolutely heavenly and do recognize the picture you took from the Tower. My dream is to one day own a place in Tuscany!

  4. I just wish it was simple to recreate some of the wonderful dishes you get in Lucca. The pizza at the place under the iron steps near the train station. The vegetable soup at Trattoria da Giulio. The side dishes and antipasti at some of the other locations. Every place had the most wonderful food.

  5. I love to read all your your fabulous recipes, and enjoy all the gorgeous photos of Italy…

  6. I got my copy and was ooohing and aahing over all the beautiful pasta photos!!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

