August 10, 2011
paninigirl

3 comments

A Taste Of Calitri

Although it’s been quite a while since my last attempt, I have not given up the hope of recreating my grandmother’s cingul’, the handmade pasta that is the specialty of her home town-Calitri. I’m not sure what spurred me on, but a few days a go I was all set to boil up some dried angel hair pasta for dinner, when I decided to get in the kitchen and give cingul’ another go.

I dug through my recipes and pulled out the little scrap of paper where I had written what my mother had told me about my grandmother’s pasta. It read “2 cups flour, 1 cup water, 1 egg (yolk only if for cingul’). I also found an old Bon Appetit article featuring a well known chef from a town not far from Calitri and there I discovered a step by step photo guide of forming the pasta. I was on my way!

Chef Pisaniello’s recipe did not include the egg, but did add a little bit of olive oil. I did a combination of both recipes, and used both the egg yolk and the olive oil. The dough was soft and silky and felt much lighter than my previous attempts. The proof would be in the cooked pasta. I topped it with a simple sauce made with tomatoes from our garden that I roasted and then pureed. J. was my willing tester and I knew he would be honest and tell me if the finished product was light enough. Lo and behold he liked it and so did I!

The photos here were taken by Paolo, writer of the blog Paolo and Maria Elena’s Italian Adventures. They are Americans who own a home in Calitri and happened to be there once for the cingul’ festival. Our next visit to Calitri will definitely be timed to coincide with this event.

I’ll be making cingul’ again this week and will post my photos then. I figured it was better to show you the real deal, straight from Calitri. To me this pasta will always be known as jingles, what we called them as kids. If I had to choose my last meal, it would be a big bowlful of my grandmother’s jingles with gravy (otherwise known as tomato sauce).

3 thoughts on “A Taste Of Calitri

  1. Wow, this is a far cry from angel hair pasta. Looks like it’s being expertly made with love.

  2. Ciaochowlinda-I’m determined to keep making these until they taste like my grandmother’s-could be a while!

  3. My mother made these here in New York. We called them cavatiels (cavatelli). She would form my son’s fingers so that the pasta would make the proper shape,

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

