August 2, 2011
paninigirl

13 comments

Thursday Night Is Pizza Night

A few weeks back my sister mentioned that they had been baking pizza on the grill. It’s been a while since we did pizza this way and our warm summer evenings seemed like the perfect time to fire up the grill and give it a go. The procedure isn’t hard-you just have to be organized with your toppings and have everything ready at hand.

Our first attempt went fairly smoothly, although we soon realized that we should make one pizza and enjoy it, before throwing a second one onto the grill. I spent more time running back and forth between the table and the grill and not enough time enjoying the pizza.

The next week we decided to do just one at a time and things went much smoother and I was able to sit and appreciate our dinner. By the third week I decided I wanted to try a different dough and went in search of a recipe that I had clipped out out of the NY Times some time ago. The recipe I had been using is one that you can whip up an hour or two before you want to use it. The one I was looking for was a dough that needed to spend overnight in the fridge and also called for bread flour, rather than all-purpose.

Turns out the recipe was one from Andrew Feinberg of Franny’s restaurant in Brooklyn. Since they are known for their pizza I figured it would be a good bet. The dough was simple to put together and after a night in the fridge, I let it sit out for about 4 hours before forming the pizzas. I knew immediately that this was a dough with more substance and I hoped it would produce the chewy crust I was looking for. I also made the decision to do the first pizza on the grill and the second one in the oven, using a stone. It was fun to do a taste test and I think the winner was the one pictured above-from the oven, not the grill.

This dough was fabulous and is what I’ll be using from now on. Can’t wait for this Thursday evening!

Franny’s Pizza Dough

1-1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, plus more for coating dough
1-1/2 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
5 cups bread flour

Put 1-3/4 cups warm water in a mixing bowl, add yeast and stir until it dissolves. Add oil, salt and sugar, and mix well. Stir in flour. Knead either by hand on a floured surface or in mixer using the dough hook, until the dough comes together. Cover and let the dough rest 20 minutes.

Knead dough again until it is springy, about 5 minutes in mixer or 10 minutes by hand. Form into a ball, coat with oil and place in a large bowl. Cover with plastic and refrigerate overnight.

Remove dough from refrigerator and let it come to room temperature, about 4 hours, before proceeding. Press dough down and knead briefly. Divide into 4 pieces, flatten in to disks and cover with cloth towels until ready to use.
Yield: 4-12″ pizzas

13 thoughts on “Thursday Night Is Pizza Night

  1. That looks so good! Guess what we’re having for dinner tomorrow night.

    So glad I found your blog.

  2. Yum! Can I come for a pizza?

  3. Even though the oven pizza was the favorite, it’s still fun to cook pizza on the grill. I have yet to get around to it this summer.

    • Linda-yes-the grill is fun and in the winter we do it in the fireplace. There’s something about the wood fire that I love-if I could only have a pizza oven in the back yard!

  4. The pizza looks delicious, but I really wanted to comment on the new look of your blog! Lovely! 🙂

  5. Made the pizza–great success!

  6. Pingback: Crazy For Calzones « Panini Girl

  7. Pingback: Eat Your Potatoes! « Panini Girl

  8. Pingback: I Married A Pizzaiolo! « Panini Girl

  9. Pingback: Pizza! | Panini Girl

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

