July 30, 2011
paninigirl

12 comments

Old Fashioned Tomato Pie

This recipe (or one very similar) has probably been around for years. When I saw it in the August issue of Bon Appetit, I looked at the ever growing pile of tomatoes on my kitchen counter and knew it was time to give it a go. Cheddar cheese, ripe tomatoes and a little mayonnaise with herbs and you have a tomato pie. I feel like I may have made something like this in the past, but I could be mistaken.

Let me tell you about the crust. It’s not your typical “pie crust”. As soon as I mixed everything together, I wondered if I’d be able to actually roll this dough out. The quantity of dry ingredients to liquid seemd a little off. It was really moist and reminded me more of something made with ” Bisquick”. I popped it into the fridge to rest and went on to prep the filling.

When it was time to deal with the crust I decided to roll it between parchment paper (which I always do with crusts) and ignored the magazine’s instruction to use plastic wrap. Big mistake on my part. The dough was sticky and messy and even after adding a little more flour, I was still unable to roll it out. For a split second I considered tossing it into the trash and started thinking of alternate dinner plans, but I decided to scoop up the sticky dough and press it into the pie pan.

Well, it’s not the most beautiful pie I’ve ever made, but it was tasty. The biscuity crust was perfect for soaking up the juicy tomatoes with the vinegary mayonnaise dressing. The melted cheddar held it all together and reminded me of the grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches of my youth. I didn’t use quite as much mayonnaise as the recipe called for and threw in some fresh chives, in addition to the dill. Other than that, I followed the recipe.If you decide to make this, definitely take a look at all the comments posted under the recipe. I wish I had!

12 thoughts on “Old Fashioned Tomato Pie

  1. It certainly looks totally delicious!!

  2. Hi Panini Girl, I nominated you for the 7 links thingy. Take a look at my blog to see what it is about. Deb

  3. Despite your problems with the crust, it looks like something I’d love to sink my teeth into.

  4. I love it when the fresh tomatoes runneth over. Such a great time of year and not enough people put those tomatoes in the oven. This looks great.

  5. Looks like a keeper. I’m making Ina’s roasted tomatoes with pesto and Parm. I love having too many tomatoes.

  6. Looks soooo good!! I LOVE YOUR NEW DESIGN!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

