July 16, 2011
paninigirl

4 comments

Coconut-You Either Love It Or You Don’t!

I’m one of those people that love coconut and if faced with the decision of choosing a cupcake flavor, I invariably will pick one mounded with cream cheese frosting and covered with bits of coconut. These coconut tea biscuits, adapted from “Tea in the East” (by Carole Manchester), are buttery and crispy with just a hint of sweetness. This is another recipe that I am happy to say will be in my friend L.’s book on tea and food pairings.

Coconut Tea Biscuits

8 tablespoons butter (1 stick) at room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1-1/2 cups flour
2/3 cup dried, unsweetened coconut
3 tablespoons canned unsweetened coconut milk or whole milk
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Position the racks in the center and top third of the oven.

Cream the butter and the sugar in a mixer set at medium speed until light in color and texture, about 2 minutes. Stir in the flour, coconut, coconut milk and salt.

On a lightly floured work surface, roll out half the dough about 1/4″ thick. Using a 2″ round cookie cutter (I made mine a little smaller), cut out cookies and place about 1/2″ apart on parchment lined cookie sheets. Gather up the scraps and knead them into the remaining dough. Repeat the rolling and the cutting until all the dough is used.

Bake until the cookies are lightly browned around the edges, about 12 minutes, rotating the sheets halfway through the baking. Transfer to wire racks and cool completely. Cookies will keep stored in an airtight container for up to 5 days. Yield: about 36 coookies

4 thoughts on “Coconut-You Either Love It Or You Don’t!

  1. I love coconut in any form. The divine smell reminds me of the days when I was young and we would smother ourselves with coconut oil to enhance our tans at the beach. Talk about frying ourselves. No wonder I have skin damage. I wouldn’t trade it for better skin. Now I just eat it.

  2. I am so with you on the coconut! It is definitely one of my all-time favorite flavors. The biscuits look wonderful!

  3. Debra-I too remember suntan lotion with that scent of coconut-brings back a lot of memories.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

